Skip to main content

AMAD Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 9
Thursday, May 26, 2022, 2:00 p.m. to 6:53 p.m.
Hon. Marc Garneau, Joint Chair (Liberal)
Hon. Yonah Martin, Joint Chair

Library of Parliament
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
As an individual
• Tyler R. Black, Clinical Assistant Professor, University of British Columbia
• Mark Sinyor, Professor
• Georgia Vrakas, Psychologist and Professor
• Ellen Wiebe, Medical Doctor
Canadian Psychiatric Association
• Alison Freeland, Chair of the Board of Directors , Co-Chair of MAiD Working Group
Expert Panel on MAID and Mental Illness
• Mona Gupta, Associate Clinical Professor
Ontario Association for ACT & FACT
• John Maher, President
Pursuant to the orders of reference from the House of Commons on Wednesday, March 30, 2022 and from the Senate on Thursday, March 31, 2022, and subsection 5(1) of An Act to amend the Criminal Code (medical assistance in dying), the committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

John Maher, Georgia Vrakas and Ellen Wiebe made statements and answered questions.

At 3:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Mark Sinyor, Alison Freeland and Tyler Black made statements and answered questions.

At 3:54 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:28 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Mona Gupta made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:53 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Leif-Erik Aune,
Andrea Mugny
Joint clerks of the committee