Skip to main content

AMAD Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 18
Tuesday, October 4, 2022, 6:31 p.m. to 8:37 p.m.
Hon. Yonah Martin, Joint Chair
Hon. Marc Garneau, Joint Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Dana Phillips, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Ordre des psychologues du Québec
• Christine Grou, President and Psychologist
• Isabelle Marleau, Psychologist and Director, Quality and development of the practice
As an individual
• Mark Henick, Mental Health Advocate
• Eric Kelleher, Consultant Liaison Psychiatrist, Cork University Hospital
• Marie Nicolini, Senior Researcher, KU Leuven University and Georgetown University
• Shakir Rahim, Lawyer, Kastner Lam LLP
• Michael Trew, Clinical Associate Professor, University of Calgary
Pursuant to the orders of reference from the House of Commons on Wednesday, March 30, 2022 and from the Senate on Thursday, March 31, 2022, and subsection 5(1) of An Act to amend the Criminal Code (medical assistance in dying), the committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Marie Nicolini, Shakir Rahim and Michael Trew made statements and answered questions.

At 7:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Mark Henick, Eric Kelleher and Christine Grou made statements and, with Isabelle Marleau, answered questions.

At 8:37 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Wassim Bouanani,
Mireille Aubé
Joint clerks of the committee