Skip to main content

AMAD Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 5
Thursday, May 5, 2022, 6:30 p.m. to 8:34 p.m.
Hon. Marc Garneau, Joint Chair (Liberal)
Hon. Yonah Martin, Joint Chair

As an individual
• Melissa Andrew, Professor of Medicine in Geriatrics, Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia Health Authority
• Michael Bach, Managing Director, Institute for Research and Development on Inclusion and Society
• Raphael Cohen-Almagor, Professor of Politics, University of Hull
• Pierre Deschamps, Lawyer and Ethicist
Dying with Dignity Canada
• Hon. James S. Cowan, Member of the Board of Directors and Former Senator
• Helen Long, Chief Executive Officer
Association québécoise pour le droit de mourir dans la dignité
• Georges L'Espérance, President and Neurosurgeon
Pursuant to the orders of reference from the House of Commons on Wednesday, March 30, 2022 and from the Senate on Thursday, March 31, 2022, and subsection 5(1) of An Act to amend the Criminal Code (medical assistance in dying), the committee resumed the statutory review of the Act.

Raphael Cohen Almagor, Pierre Deschamps, James S. Cowan and Helen Long made statements and answered questions.

At 7:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Melissa Andrew, Michael Bach and Georges L'Espérance made statements and answered questions.

At 8:34 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Leif-Erik Aune,
Andrea Mugny
Joint clerks of the committee