Skip to main content

AMAD Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 2
Wednesday, April 13, 2022, 2:40 p.m. to 5:21 p.m.
Hon. Yonah Martin, Joint Chair
Hon. Marc Garneau, Joint Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Department of Health
• Abby Hoffman, Senior Executive Advisor to the Deputy Minister
• Venetia Lawless, Manager, End of Life Care Unit, Strategic Policy Branch
• Jacquie Lemaire, Senior Policy Advisor, End of Life Care Unit, Strategic Policy Branch
Department of Justice
• Jay Potter, Acting Senior Counsel
• Joanne Klineberg, Acting General Counsel
Department of Employment and Social Development
• Mausumi Banerjee, Director, Office for Disability Issues
Pursuant to the orders of reference from the House of Commons on Wednesday, March 30, 2022 and from the Senate on Thursday, March 31, 2022, and subsection 5(1) of An Act to amend the Criminal Code (medical assistance in dying), the committee commenced the statutory review of the Act.

Abby Hoffman and Jay Potter made statements and, with Jacquie Lemaire, Venetia Lawless and Mausumi Banerjee, answered questions.

It was agreed, — That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure meet on Wednesday, April 20, 2022 from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m..

On motion of James Maloney, it was agreed, — That Gary Anandasangaree be named as additional member from the government on the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure.

At 5:21 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Leif-Erik Aune,
Mireille Aubé
Joint clerks of the committee