Skip to main content

DEDC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication



OTTAWA, Tuesday, March 29, 2022


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of Thursday, March 3, 2022 and the order of the House of Commons of Wednesday, March 2, 2022, the Special Joint Committee on the Declaration of Emergency met this day in room 025-B, West Block, and with videoconference, at 6:36 p.m. ET, the chair, Mr. Matthew Green, presiding.

Representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Boniface, Carignan, P.C., Harder, P.C. and White (4).

Representing the House of Commons:  Rachel Bendayan, Larry Brock, Rhéal Éloi Fortin, Matthew Green, Glen Motz and Arif Virani (6).

Representing the House of Commons by videoconference: Yasir Naqvi (1).

Other members of the House of Commons present:  Alistair MacGregor (1).

Participating in the meeting: Miriam Burke, Procedural Clerk, House of Commons; Stephanie Feldman and Brendan Naef, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 3, 2022 and the House of Commons on Wednesday, March 2, 2022, the committee continued its review of the exercise of powers and the performance of duties and functions pursuant to the declaration of emergency that was in effect from Monday, February 14, 2022, to Wednesday, February 23, 2022.


Senate of Canada:

Philippe Hallée, Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel.

House of Commons:

Philippe Dufresne, Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel.

As an individual:

The Honourable Perrin Beatty, P.C., O.C. (by videoconference)

Philippe Hallée and Philippe Dufresne each made a statement and answered questions.

The Honourable Perrin Beatty made a statement and answered questions.

The Honourable Senator White moved:

That the next meeting of the committee be held in camera for its entirety.

After debate, the question being put on the motion, it was adopted on the following vote:


The Honourable Senators Boniface, Harder P.C. and White and Ms. Bendayan, Mr. Naqvi and Mr. Virani – [6]


The Honourable Senator Carignan P.C. and Mr. Brock, Mr. Fortin, Mr. Green and Mr. Motz – [5]



At 9:36 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Paul Cardegna

Mark Palmer

Joint Clerks of the Committee