Skip to main content

DEDC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication



OTTAWA, Thursday, September 29, 2022


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of Thursday, September 22, 2022 and the order of the House of Commons of Thursday, June 23, 2022, the Special Joint Committee on the Declaration of Emergency met this day in room 025-B, West Block, and with videoconference, at 6:30 p.m. ET, the joint chair, Mr. Matthew Green presiding.

Representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Boniface, Harder and White (3).

Representing the Senate by videoconference: The Honourable Senator Carignan, P.C. (1).

Representing the House of Commons: Rachel Bendayan, Larry Brock, Rhéal Éloi Fortin, Matthew Green, Glen Motz, Yasir Naqvi and Arif Virani (7).

Participating in the meeting: Stephanie Feldman and Colin Sawatzky, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 3, 2022 and the House of Commons on Wednesday, March 2, 2022, the committee continued its review of the exercise of powers and the performance of duties and functions pursuant to the declaration of emergency that was in effect from Monday, February 14, 2022, to Wednesday, February 23, 2022.


House of Commons:

Patrick McDonell, Sergeant-at-Arms and Corporate Security Officer.

Parliamentary Protective Service:

Larry Brookson, Acting Director.

Senate of Canada:

Julie Lacroix, Director, Corporate Security Directorate.

Patrick McDonell, Larry Brookson and Julie Lacroix each made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:34 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:36 p.m., the committee resumed.

At 7:00 p.m., Mr. Fortin took the chair.

At 7:05 p.m., Mr. Green took the chair.

At 7:38 p.m., Mr. Fortin took the chair.

At 7:42 p.m., Mr. Green took the chair.

At 7:49 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:56 p.m., the committee resumed.

At 8:12 p.m., Mr. Fortin took the chair.

At 8:17 p.m., Mr. Green took the chair.

At 8:39 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Miriam Burke

Mark Palmer

Joint Clerks of the Committee