Skip to main content

PDAM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 8
Monday, February 1, 2016, 11:02 a.m. to 1:03 p.m.
Robert Oliphant, Co-Chair (Liberal)

• Harold Albrecht (Conservative)
• Sean Casey (Liberal)
• Garnett Genuis (Conservative)
• Kamal Khera (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Andrew Lauzon, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
British Columbia Civil Liberties Association
• Josh Paterson, Executive Director
• Grace Pastine, Litigation Director
Justice Centre for Constitutional Freedoms
• Jay Cameron, Barrister and Solicitor
Dying With Dignity Canada
• Wanda Morris, Chief Executive Officer
• Shanaaz Gokool, Chief Operating Officer and National Campaigns Director
College of Family Physicians of Canada
• Dr. Francine Lemire, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
Alzheimer Society of Canada
• Mimi Lowi-Young, Chief Executive Officer
• Debbie Benczkowski, Chief Operating Officer
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, December 11, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of physician-assisted dying.

Grace Pastine, Josh Paterson, Jay Cameron, Wanda Morris and Shanaaz Gokool made statements and answered questions.

At 12:09 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:17 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Dr. Francine Lemire, Mimi Lowi-Young and Debbie Benczkowski, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario made statements and answered questions.

At 1:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrea McCaffrey,
Shaila Anwar
Joint Clerks of the Committee