Skip to main content

PDAM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 6
Wednesday, January 27, 2016, 5:02 p.m. to 8:37 p.m.
Robert Oliphant, Co-Chair (Liberal)

• Harold Albrecht (Conservative)
• Sean Casey (Liberal)
• Garnett Genuis (Conservative)
• Rachael Harder (Conservative)
• Kamal Khera (Liberal)
• James Maloney (Liberal)
• Borys Wrzesnewskyj (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Andrea McCaffrey, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Canadian Medical Association
• Dr. Cindy Forbes, President
• Dr. Jeff Blackmer, Vice-President, Medical Professionalism
Canadian Nurses Association
• Anne Sutherland Boal, Chief Executive Officer
• Josette Roussel, Senior Nurse Advisor
Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians
• Dr. Monica Branigan
Canadian Pharmacists Association
• Carlo Berardi, Chair
• Phil Emberley, Director, Professional Affairs
Canadian Psychiatric Association
• Dr. K. Sonu Gaind, President
• Katie Hardy, Director, Professional and Member Affairs
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, December 11, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of physician-assisted dying.

Dr. Cindy Forbes, Dr. Jeff Blackmer, Anne Sutherland Boal, Josette Roussel, and Dr. Monica Branigan made statements and answered questions.

At 6:14 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:18 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

It was agreed, — That only members of the Committee be permitted to stay during in camera meetings.

At 6:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:27 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Carlo Berardi and Dr. K. Sonu Gaind made statements and, with Phil Emberley answered questions.

At 8:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Cynara Corbin,
Shaila Anwar
Clerks of the Committee