Skip to main content

PDAM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 11
Wednesday, February 3, 2016, 5:00 p.m. to 7:37 p.m.
Robert Oliphant, Co-Chair (Liberal)

• Mike Bossio (Liberal)
• Sean Casey (Liberal)
• Garnett Genuis (Conservative)
• Rachael Harder (Conservative)
• Kamal Khera (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Andrea McCaffrey, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Coalition for HealthCARE and Conscience
• Cardinal Thomas Collins, Archbishop, Archdiocese of Toronto
• Laurence Worthen, Executive Director, Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada
Canadian Unitarian Council
• Vyda Ng, Executive Director
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
• Dr. Tarek Rajji, Chief, Geriatric Psychiatry
• Kristin Taylor, Vice-President, Legal Services
Canadian Paediatric Society
• Dr. Dawn Davies, Chair, Bioethics Committee
• Mary J Shariff, Associate Professor of Law and Associate Dean Academic, University of Manitoba
Canadian Council of Imams
• Imam Sikander Hashmi, Spokesperson
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, December 11, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of physician-assisted dying.

Vyda Ng, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Cardinal Thomas Collins and Laurence Worthen made statements and answered questions.

At 6:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Dr. Tarek Rajji, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Dr. Dawn Davies and Mary J Shariff, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta and Imam Sikander Hashmi made statements and, with Kristin Taylor, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, answered questions.

At 7:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Cynara Corbin,
Shaila Anwar
Clerks of the Committee