Skip to main content

PDAM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 10
Tuesday, February 2, 2016, 5:33 p.m. to 8:39 p.m.
Robert Oliphant, Co-Chair (Liberal)

• Harold Albrecht (Conservative)
• Sean Casey (Liberal)
• Garnett Genuis (Conservative)
• Rachael Harder (Conservative)
• Kamal Khera (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Andrea McCaffrey, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
As an individual
• Carolyn Ells, Associate Professor, Medicine, Biomedical Ethics Unit, McGill University
Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association
• Sharon Baxter, Executive Director
Dying With Dignity Canada
• Dr. Derryck Smith, Chair of Physicians Advisory Council
College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia
• Dr. Douglas Grant, Registrar and Chief Executive Officer
• Marjorie Hickey, Legal Counsel
Criminal Lawyers' Association
• Leo Russomanno, Member and Criminal Defence Counsel
Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada
• Dr. Alika Lafontaine, President
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, December 11, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of physician-assisted dying.

Dr. Derryck Smith, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Carolyn Ells and Sharon Baxter made statements and answered questions.

At 7:04 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:10 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Dr. Alika Lafontaine, by videoconference from Grande Prairie, Alberta, Dr. Douglas Grant and Leo Russomanno made statements and answered questions.

At 8:39 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Cynara Corbin,
Shaila Anwar
Clerks of the Committee