Skip to main content

BILI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Thursday, December 3, 2009

The Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament met at 12:02 p.m. this day, in Room 362, East Block, the Joint Chair, Peter Goldring, presiding.


Members of the Committee present representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Sharon Carstairs, Stephen Greene, Mobina S.B. Jaffer and Jean Lapointe.


Members of the Committee present representing the House of Commons: Hon. Mauril Bélanger, Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Ray Boughen, Cheryl Gallant, Peter Goldring, Carol Hughes, Blake Richards and Brad Trost.


Acting Members from the House of Commons present: Bonnie Crombie for Hon. Gurbax S. Malhi, Meili Faille for Louis Plamondon and Monique Guay for Gérard Asselin.


Associate Members from the House of Commons present: LaVar Payne and Pierre Poilievre.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst; Élise Hurtubise-Loranger, Analyst; Sebastian Spano, Analyst.


Witnesses: Library of Parliament: Sonia L'Heureux, Assistant Parliamentary Librarian; Lynn Brodie, Director , Information and Document Resource Service; Dianne Brydon, Interim Director General, Learning and Access Services.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(4)(a), the Committee commenced its study of different initiatives of the Library: Parliament 2020, Youth Engagement Initiatives, International Quorum.

Sonia L'Heureux, Dianne Brydon and Lynn Brodie made statements and answered questions.


At 1:21 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marc-Olivier Girard
Joint Clerk of the Committee

2009/12/08 2:17 p.m.