Skip to main content

BILI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Thursday, October 8, 2009

The Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament met at 1:02 p.m. this day, in Room 362, East Block, for the purpose of electing a Joint Chair (House of Commons), pursuant to Standing Order 106(1).


Members of the Committee present representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Sharon Carstairs, Stephen Greene, Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Jean Lapointe and Terrance Richard Stratton.


Members of the Committee present representing the House of Commons: Hon. Mauril Bélanger, Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Ray Boughen, Cheryl Gallant, Carol Hughes, Hon. Gurbax S. Malhi and Blake Richards.


Acting Members from the House of Commons present: Mike Allen for Peter Goldring and Roger Gaudet for Louis Plamondon.


Other Members of the House of Commons present: David Christopherson.


In attendance: Senate: Gérald Lafrenière, Acting Joint Clerk of the Committee. Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst; Élise Hurtubise-Loranger, Analyst.

The Acting Joint Clerk (House of Commons) presided over the election of a Joint Chair (House of Commons).

On motion of Ray Boughen, it was agreed, — That Peter Goldring be elected Joint Chair (House of Commons) of the Committee.


The Acting Joint Clerk (House of Commons) of the Committee presided over the election of a Vice-Chair.


On motion of Mobina S.B. Jaffer, it was agreed, — That Mauril Bélanger be elected Vice-Chair of the Committee.


Sharon Carstairs took the Chair.


On motion of Terrance Richard Stratton, it was agreed, — That the Committee do now adjourn.


At 1:13 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Acting Joint Clerk of the Committee

2009/10/09 2:40 p.m.