Skip to main content

REGS Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Proceedings of the Standing Joint Committee on
Scrutiny of Regulations

Issue 10 - Minutes of Proceedings, October 2, 2003

OTTAWA, Thursday, October 2, 2003


The Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations met at 8:33 a.m., this day, in room 256-S, Centre Block, for the purpose of electing a House Joint Chairman pursuant to Standing Order 106(1) of the House of Commons.

Members of the committee present:

Representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Michel Biron and Wilfred P. Moore (2).

Representing the House of Commons: Roy Bailey (for Maurice Vellacott), Rex Barnes, Gurmant Grewal, Dale Johnston (for John Cummins), Derek Lee, Paul Macklin, John Maloney, Lynn Myers, Bernard Patry (for Joe Comuzzi), Caroline St-Hilaire, Alan Tonks (for Paul Bonwick), Tom Wappel, and Ted White (13).

In attendance: Joann Garbig, Joint Clerk of the Committee (House of Commons), and François-R. Bernier, Counsel to the committee, Research Branch, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

The House of Commons Joint Clerk presided over the election of the House of Commons Joint Chairman.

Mr. Lee moved that Mr. Grewal be elected House of Commons Joint Chairman of the Committee.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

Mr. Grewal took the Chair.

It was moved by Mr. Maloney that Mr. Lee continue as Vice-Chairman of the committee.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

It was agreed that the committee meet at the following times: 8:30 a.m. on October 9 and 23, November 6 and 20, and December 4, 2003.

At 8:39 a.m., it was agreed that the committee adjourn to the call of the Joint Chairs.


Till Heyde

Joint Clerk of the Committee (Senate)