Skip to main content

REGS Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Proceedings of the Standing Joint Committee on
Scrutiny of Regulations

Issue 8 - Minutes

OTTAWA, Thursday, May 29, 2003


The Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations met at 8:35 a.m., this day, in room 160-S, Centre Block, the Joint Chair, Mr. Gurmant Grewal, M.P., presiding.

Members of the committee present:

Representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Michel Biron, James F. Kelleher, P.C., Pana Merchant, and Wilfred P. Moore (4).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Eymard G. Corbin (1).

Representing the House of Commons: Jim Abbott (for John Cummins), Andy Burton (for Maurice Vellacott), John Cummins, Roger Cuzner (for Joe Comuzzi), Georges Farrah (for Liza Frulla), Gurmant Grewal, Derek Lee, Paul Macklin, John Maloney, John McKay, Lynn Myers, Benoît Sauvageau (for Michel Guimond), Tom Wappel, and Ted White (14).

In attendance: Joann Garbig, Joint Clerk of the Committee (House of Commons), and François-R. Bernier and Peter Bernhardt, Counsel to the Committee, Research Branch, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

The committee proceeded to consider its permanent Order of Reference, section 19, the Statutory Instruments Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. S-22, which follows:

Every statutory instrument issued, made or established after December 31, 1971, other than an instrument the inspection of which and the obtaining of copies of which are precluded by any regulations made pursuant to paragraph 20(d), shall stand permanently referred to any committee of the House of Commons, of the Senate or of both Houses of Parliament that may be established for the purpose of reviewing and scrutinizing statutory instruments.


From the Department of Fisheries and Oceans:

Tim Meisner, Acting Director General, Policy and Legislation, Marine Programs;

Ted Wallace, Acting Director, Policy and Legislation, Marine Programs.

From the Department of Canadian Heritage:

René Bouchard, Director General, Broadcasting Policy and Innovation;

Larry Durr, Director, Broadcasting Distribution Services;

Mario Lepage, Legal Counsel.

From the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission:

Marc O'Sullivan, Executive Director, Broadcasting;

Diane Rhéaume, Secretary General;

John H. Keogh, Senior General Counsel.

From the Department of Industry:

Earl Hoeg, Director, Spectrum Management Operations.

The committee considered a draft report on SOR/2002-225, Regulations Amending Certain Regulations Made Under the Fisheries Act (Miscellaneous Program).

Mr. Cummins moved that the report be adopted now and presented in Parliament.

After debate, the question being put on the motion, it was negatived on the following division:

YEAS — 6

The Honourable Senators:

Kelleher, P.C. — 1

Members of the House of Commons:

Burton, Cummins, Grewal, Sauvageau, and White — 5

NAYS — 10

The Honourable Senators:

Biron, Merchant, and Moore — 3

Members of the House of Commons:

Farrah, Lee, Macklin, Maloney, McKay, Myers, and Wappel — 7

At 9:16 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:20 a.m., the committee resumed.

Messrs. Meisner, Bouchard, O'Sullivan, Hoeg, and Ms. Rhéaume made presentations and, with Messrs. Wallace and Keogh, answered questions on SOR/97-144 — Broadcasting Licence Fee Regulations, 1997, the Fee Schedule for Marine Navigation Services and the Fee Schedule for Icebreaking Services.

At 10:44 a.m., it was agreed that the committee adjourn to the call of the Joint Chairs.


Till Heyde

Joint Clerk of the Committee (Senate)