Skip to main content

REGS Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

OTTAWA, Thursday, October 29, 1998


The Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations met at 8:35 a.m., this day in Room 256-S, the Joint Chairman Gurmant Grewal presiding.

Representing the Senate: The Honourable Senator Normand Grimard, William M. Kelly, Wilfred P. Moore (3).

Representing the House of Commons: Roy Bailey, Gurmant Grewal, Marlene Jennings, Derek Lee, John Maloney, Gurbax Malhi, Jacques Saada, Pierrette Venne and Tom Wappel (9).

Acting members present: Keith Martin for Ken Epp, Inky Mark for Jim Gouk.

In attendance: Stephen Knowles, Acting Joint Clerk of the Committee (House of Commons); François-R. Bernier, Peggy Jodoin-Rasmussen, Counsel to the Committee, Research Branch, Library of Parliament.


From Revenue Canada:

Mr. Denis Lefebvre, Assistant Deputy Minister, Customs and Trade Administration Branch.

The committee continued its consideration of its permanent Order of Reference, section 19, The Statutory Instruments Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. S-22, which follows:

Every statutory instrument issued, made or established after December 31, 1971, other than an instrument the inspection of which and the obtaining of copies of which are precluded by any regulations made pursuant to paragraph 20(d), shall stand permanently referred to any committee of the House of Commons, of the Senate or of both Houses of Parliament that may be established for the purpose of reviewing and scrutinizing statutory instruments.

Mr. Wappel raised a question regarding the absence of the Deputy Minister of Revenue who had been invited to the meeting of the committee.

After debate Ms Jennings moved -- That the committee adjourn its meeting until such time as Mr. Wright, the Deputy Minister, can appear before the committee.

Upon the proposal of Mr. Lee, it was agreed that the motion be moved after hearing Mr. Lefebvre.

Upon the proposal of Ms Venne, it was agreed that a letter with a transcript of the committee's proceedings be sent to Mr. Wright.

Mr. Lefebvre made an opening statement.

Mr. Lee moved that the committee continue its proceedings in camera.

After debate, the question being put on the motion, it was adopted on the following division

Yeas: Malhi, Bailey, Venne, Lee, Moore, Kelly, Saada, Maloney.

Nays: Jennings, Wappel.

At 9:14 a.m., the committee proceeded in camera.

It was agreed to defer Ms Jennings motion to the meeting of November 5, 1998.

It was agreed that in addition to the meeting of November 5, the committee also meet on November 26 and December 10 1998.

At 10:20 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Tõnu Onu

Joint Clerk of the Committee (Senate)