Skip to main content

REGS Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

(Meeting No. 10)

Thursday, May 14, 1998

The Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations met at 8:35 a.m., this day in Room 256-S, The Honourable Senator Hervieux-Payette and Mr. Lee presiding.

Representing the Senate: Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Kelly, Moore (3).

Representing the House of Commons: Paul DeVillers, Marlene Jennings, Derek Lee, Gary Lunn, John Maloney, Ghislain Lebel, Alex Shepherd, Tom Wappel (8).

Acting members present: Peter McKay for Bill Casey, Garry Breitkreuz for Ted White.

In attendance: Suzanne Verville, Joint Clerk of the Committee (House of Commons); François-R. Bernier, General Counsel, Peggy Rasmussen-Jodoin and Peter Bernhardt, Counsel to the Committee, Research Branch, Library of Parliament.

The committee continued its consideration of its permanent Order of Reference, section 19, The Statutory Instruments Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. S-22, which follows:

19. Every statutory instrument issued, made or established after December 31, 1971, other than an instrument the inspection of which and the obtaining of copies of which are precluded by any regulations made pursuant to paragraph 20(d), shall stand permanently referred to any committee of the House of Commons, of the Senate or of both Houses of Parliament that may be established for the purpose of reviewing and scrutinizing statutory instruments


The Honourable Andy Scott, M.P., P.C., Solicitor General of Canada.


From the Solicitor General of Canada:

Jean T. Fournier, Deputy Solicitor General; and

Paul Dubrule, Senior Counsel and Manager, Legal Services.

SOR/88-361 -- Royal Canadian Mounted Police Regulations, 1988

Mr. Scott made a statement and with Mr. Dubrule answered questions from members of the committee.

At 10:11 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Tõnu Onu

Joint Clerk of the Committee (Senate)