Skip to main content

About

42nd Parliament, 1st Session (December 3, 2015 - September 11, 2019) Latest Session

The 42nd Parliament was dissolved on September 11, 2019.

Dissolution occurs when the Governor General, on the advice of the Prime Minister, issues a proclamation putting an end to the current Parliament, which triggers a general election.

In practice, as soon as Parliament is dissolved, all committee activity ceases and, as such, all orders of reference and committee studies lapse. No committee may sit during a dissolution.

The information on these pages refers to committees and their work before Parliament was dissolved.

Learn More

Parliament increasingly delegates legislative authority to the Executive branch of government through enabling statutes that allow a government body to make rules and regulations. To ensure that these government bodies remain accountable to Parliament, the Committee reviews using the following criteria:

Whether any regulation or statutory instrument within its terms of reference, in the judgement of the Committee:

1. is not authorised by the terms of the enabling legislation or has not complied with any condition set forth in the legislation;

2. is not in conformity with the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms or the Canadian Bill of Rights;

3. purports to have retroactive effect without express authority having been provided for in the enabling legislation;

4. imposes a charge on the public revenues or requires payment to be made to the Crown or to any other authority, or prescribes the amount of any such charge or payment, without express authority having been provided for in the enabling legislation;

5. imposes a fine, imprisonment or other penalty without express authority having been provided for in the enabling legislation;

6. tends directly or indirectly to exclude the jurisdiction of the courts without express authority having been provided for in the enabling legislation;

7. has not complied with the Statutory Instruments Act with respect to transmission, registration or publication;

8. appears for any reason to infringe the rule of law;

9. trespasses unduly on rights and liberties;

10. makes the rights and liberties of the person unduly dependent on administrative discretion or is not consistent with the rules of natural justice;

11. makes some unusual or unexpected use of the powers conferred by the enabling legislation;

12. amounts to the exercise of a substantive legislative power properly the subject of direct parliamentary enactment;

13. is defective in its drafting or for any other reason requires elucidation as to its form or purport.

These criteria deal with matters of legality and the procedural aspects of regulations, as opposed to the merits of particular regulations or the policy they reflect.

Section 19 of the Statutory Instruments Act authorizes the Committee to review “[e]very statutory instrument issued, made or established after 31 December 1971, other than an instrument the inspection of which and the obtaining of copies of which are precluded by any regulations made pursuant to paragraph 20(d).”In addition, since 1980 the Senate and the House of Commons have renewed an order of reference at the beginning of each session authorizing the Committee:

to study the means by which Parliament can better oversee the government regulatory process and in particular to enquire into and report upon:

1. the appropriate principles and practices to be observed

(a) in the drafting of powers enabling delegates of Parliament to make subordinate laws;

(b) in the enactment of statutory instruments;

(c) in the use of executive regulation;

2. the role, functions and powers of the Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations.

Taken together, the statutory and sessional references of the Committee afford it a broad jurisdiction to enquire into and report on most aspects of the federal regulatory process.

Prior to the Second World War there was no general statutory requirement that subordinate legislation be either published or tabled in Parliament. The great volume of wartime regulations made it necessary for the government to table in the House and to publish most regulations dealing with the war, and the practice continued after the war. While there were suggestions that regulations should be referred to a committee of the House so that there would be exercise of control over the executive, and observance of the principle of the supremacy of Parliament, the matter was not pursued.

The first Regulations Act was introduced in 1950. It provided for the systematic publication and tabling of all orders having legislative effect, whether emanating from the Governor in Council, from Ministers, or from other Crown agencies. No provision was made for parliamentary scrutiny by the Regulations Act, on the ground that most subordinate legislation received careful scrutiny before the fact. The matter did not surface again until 1964, when the Special Commons Committee on Procedure and Organization recommended the establishment of a standing committee on delegated legislation which would report to the House any abuse of delegated legislative power, but whose terms of reference should exclude it from considering the merits of or the policy behind delegated legislation. Again, the proposal for a scrutiny committee was not followed up. Instead in 1968, the House set up a Special Committee to consider and report on “procedures for the review by this House of instruments made in virtue of any statute of the Parliament of Canada.” The Committee (known as the MacGuigan Committee, the Hon. Mark MacGuigan being its chairman) reported to the House on October 22, 1969.

The response to the recommendations of the MacGuigan Committee was the present Statutory Instruments Act. The Bill was described by the government of the day as “an attempt to restore a measure of parliamentary control over the executive and to redress the balance in the relationship between the individual and the state.” One of the main features of the Bill was that most statutory instruments would stand referred to a parliamentary scrutiny committee.

In the end it was decided that the scrutiny committee should be a joint committee of both Houses, and the Joint Committee began to function in November of 1974.

STAFF ASSIGNED TO THE JOINT COMMITTEE

Committee Clerk

As this is a joint committee, there are committee clerks assigned from both the Senate and the House of Commons and they are referred to as joint clerks. The joint clerks of the joint committee are non-partisan and independent officers who serve all members of the committee and representatives of all parties equally. The joint clerks perform their duties and responsibilities under the direction of the joint committee and the joint Chairs. As experts in the rules of the Senate and the House of Commons, the joint clerks may be requested to give advice to the joint Chairs and members of the committee should a question of procedure arise. The joint clerks coordinate, organize and serve as liaison officers for the joint committee and as such will be in frequent contact with members’ staff.

Committee Assistant

The committee assistants from the Senate and the House of Commons provide a wide range of specialized administrative services for, in particular, the organization of committee meetings and the publishing of documents on the committees’ website. The committee assistants work with the joint clerks to meet the needs of the joint committee.

Committee Analyst

The Library of Parliament’s analyst provides authoritative, substantive, and timely research, analysis and information to all members of the Committee. They are part of the Committee’s institutional memory and are a unique resource for parliamentarians. Supported by research librarians, analyst works individually or in multidisciplinary teams.

Analysts can prepare: briefing notes on the subjects being examined; detailed study plans; lists of proposed witnesses; analyses of an issue with a list of suggested questions; background papers; draft reports; news releases; and/or formal correspondence. Analysts with legal training can assist the Committee regarding any substantive issues that may arise during the consideration of bills.

OTHER RESOURCE AVAILABLE TO THE COMMITTEE

The Parliamentary Budget Officer (PBO)

The Parliamentary Budget Officer (PBO) has a mandate to support Parliament and parliamentarians in holding the government to account for the good stewardship of public resources. The Federal Accountability Act (FedAA) of 2006 mandates the PBO to provide independent analysis to the Senate and to the House of Commons (HOC) regarding the state of the nation’s finances, the government estimates and trends in the national economy.

The enabling legislation also provides the PBO with a mandate to provide analytical support to any committee during its consideration of the estimates, as well as provide advice to any Member of Parliament regarding the financial cost of proposals.

Further information on the PBO may be found at: http://www.pbo-dpb.gc.ca/en/

Each year, the Standing Joint Committee reviews hundreds of statutory instruments. The legal advisors to the Committee conduct the initial review of instruments and bring non-conforming instruments to the attention of the Committee. Where a problem is found, the Committee’s staff writes to the department responsible for the regulation, identifying the issue, requesting its position and requesting an amendment to rectify the problem, where appropriate.

The Committee attempts to resolve problems found in regulations by corresponding with the ministry or agency responsible for the regulation. If the Committee feels an impasse has been reached in its negotiations with a department, it will then write to the Minister in question in an attempt to resolve the issue. Only when this process does not yield a satisfactory solution will the Committee consider making a report to both Houses, and possibly recommending disallowance.

Recent reports of the Standing Joint Committee include the following:

41st Parliament, 2nd Session (October 16, 2013 – Present)

40th Parliament, 3rd Session (March 3, 2010 – March 26, 2011)

Disallowance is one of the traditional means at the disposal of Parliaments to control the making of delegated legislation. Generally, this term refers to any procedure whereby parliamentarians are given an opportunity to reject a subordinate law made by a delegate of Parliament. Until 1986, no general disallowance procedure was in place in Canada and only a few individual statutes provided that instruments made under their authority could be disallowed or by the Houses.

The disallowance power was put in place through amendments to the Standing Orders of the House of Commons in 1986. At the time, it applied only in the House of Commons and not in the Senate, and was limited to those statutory instruments that were made by the Governor in Council or by Ministers of the Crown. This was changed in 2003 when Parliament enacted added section 19.1 to the Statutory Instruments Act. The power of disallowance now applies to all regulations that are referred to the Committee. Both the Senate and the House of Commons must agree to a disallowance resolution for that resolution to be effective.

Section 19.1 sets out the procedure for the disallowance of a regulation. Only the Standing Joint Committee can initiate disallowance. In any case where the Committee is of the view that a regulation, or part of a regulation, should be revoked, it can make a report to the two Houses containing a resolution to this effect. Before doing so, however, the Committee must notify the regulation-making authority of its intent to propose the disallowance of a regulation at least 30 days prior to adopting the disallowance report. The Committee only recommends disallowance. That recommendation must then be accepted by both Houses.

Within 15 sitting days of the tabling of a disallowance report, a Minister may file a motion that the disallowance resolution contained in the report not be adopted. If such a motion is filed in either or both Houses, the appropriate House meets at 1:00 o’clock on the next Wednesday to consider the motion. Section 19.1(7) of the Act allows a debate of a maximum duration of one hour, with a 10-minute limit on interventions by members. At the conclusion of the debate, a vote is taken on the motion. If the House defeats the motion, the resolution is considered to have been adopted by the appropriate House. If, on the other hand, the motion filed by the Minister is supported by the House, the resolution set out in the Committee’s report is considered to have been rejected by the House. A resolution is either deemed adopted on the fifteenth sitting day following the tabling of the disallowance report if no motion is filed within those fifteen sitting days by a Minister, or it is considered to be adopted on the day that such a motion is defeated by a vote of the appropriate House.

Section 19.1(9) imposes a legal duty on a regulation-making authority to repeal a disallowed regulation within 30 days – or such longer period of time as may be specified in the resolution - following the day on which both the Senate and the House of Commons have adopted or are deemed to have adopted the resolution.

Not every report made by the Committee contains a disallowance resolution. A report could recommend that a regulation be revoked and still not involve disallowance, and the Committee does continue to make such reports.

Passer au contenu

À propos

42e législature, 1re session
(3 décembre 2015 - présent)
Choisir une session différente

Le Parlement délègue une part croissante de son pouvoir législatif à la branche exécutive du gouvernement par des lois habilitantes qui autorisent les organismes de l’État à établir des règles et des règlements. Pour veiller à ce que ces organismes continuent de rendre des comptes au Parlement, le Comité examine les règlements et les textes réglementaires selon les critères suivants.

De l’avis du Comité, si un règlement ou autre texte réglementaire relevant de sa compétence :

1. n’est pas autorisé par les dispositions de la législation habilitante ou n’est pas conforme à toute condition prescrite dans la législation;

2. n’est pas conforme à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés ou à la Déclaration canadienne des droits;

3. a un effet rétroactif en l’absence d’autorisation formelle dans la législation habilitante;

4. impose des frais au Trésor public ou exige qu’un paiement soit versé à la Couronne ou à toute autre autorité, ou prescrit le montant quelconque de ces frais ou paiements, en l’absence d’autorisation formelle dans la législation habilitante;

5. impose une amende, une peine d’emprisonnement ou une autre pénalité en l’absence d’autorisation formelle dans la législation habilitante;

6. tend directement ou indirectement à exclure la juridiction des tribunaux en l’absence d’autorisation formelle dans la législation habilitante;

7. n’est pas conforme à la Loi sur les textes réglementaires sur le plan de la transmission, de l’enregistrement ou de la publication;

8. paraît pour une raison quelconque enfreindre le principe de la légalité;

9. empiète indûment sur les droits et libertés de la personne;

10. assujettit indûment les droits et libertés de la personne au pouvoir discrétionnaire de l’Administration ou n’est pas conforme aux règles de justice naturelle;

11. utilise de manière inhabituelle ou inattendue les pouvoirs que confère la législation habilitante;

12. représente l’exercice d’un pouvoir législatif de fond qui devrait faire l’objet d’une loi par le Parlement;

13. est défectueux dans sa rédaction ou, pour toute autre raison, nécessite des éclaircissements quant à sa forme ou à son objet.

Ces critères portent sur la légalité et les aspects procéduraux de la réglementation, et non sur le bien-fondé des règlements eux-mêmes ou des décisions qu’ils mettent en œuvre.

Selon l’article 19 de la Loi sur les textes réglementaires, tous les textes réglementaires « pris après le 31 décembre 1971, à l’exclusion des textes dont la communication est interdite aux termes des règlements d’application de l’alinéa 20d) » sont soumis au Comité. Par ailleurs, depuis 1980, le Sénat et la Chambre des communes renouvellent au début de chaque session un ordre de renvoi autorisant le Comité à :

... étudier les moyens par lesquels le Parlement peut mieux surveiller le processus de réglementation du gouvernement et plus particulièrement à faire enquête et rapport sur :

1. les principes et les pratiques qu’il convient d’observer

(a) dans la rédaction des pouvoirs permettant aux délégués du Parlement de faire des lois subordonnées;

(b) dans l’adoption des textes réglementaires;

(c) dans l’utilisation du règlement exécutif; et la façon dont le contrôle parlementaire devrait être effectué à cet égard;

2. le rôle, les tâches et les pouvoirs du Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation.

Les ordres de renvoi législatif et sessionnel du Comité lui confèrent donc un pouvoir d'examen étendu qui lui permet d'enquêter et de faire des rapports sur la plupart des étapes du processus fédéral de réglementation.

Avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il n’y avait aucune obligation légale générale de publier ou de déposer au Parlement des mesures législatives subordonnées. La grande quantité de règlements pris en temps de guerre a obligé le gouvernement à déposer à la Chambre et à publier la plupart des règlements portant sur la guerre, et cette pratique s’est poursuivie après la guerre. Bien qu’on ait suggéré de renvoyer les règlements à un comité de la Chambre afin de permettre l’exercice d’un contrôle sur l’exécutif et d’assurer le respect du principe de la suprématie du Parlement, cette suggestion n’a pas eu de suite.

La Loi sur les règlements a vu le jour en 1950. Elle prévoyait la publication et le dépôt systématiques de toutes les ordonnances et décrets de nature législative, qu’elles émanent du gouverneur en conseil, de ministres ou d’autres organismes d’État. Aucun examen parlementaire n’a été prévu dans la Loi sur les règlements, sous prétexte que la plupart des mesures législatives subordonnées ont été examinées attentivement avant d’être présentées. Cette question a refait surface en 1964, quand le Comité spécial de la procédure et de l’organisation de la Chambre a recommandé la création d’un comité permanent des mesures législatives subordonnées qui signalerait à la Chambre tous les abus des pouvoirs législatifs délégués, mais dont le mandat devrait l’empêcher d’évaluer le bien-fondé des mesures législatives subordonnées ou la politique les sous tendant. Cette proposition n’a elle aussi pas eu de suite. Au lieu de cela, en 1968, la Chambre a mis sur pied un comité spécial ayant pour mandat d’examiner et de faire rapport sur les « procédures de révision, par la Chambre, des actes établis en vertu d’une loi quelconque du Parlement du Canada ». Le comité (connu sous le nom de comité MacGuigan parce que l’Honorable Mark MacGuigan en était le président) a fait rapport à la Chambre le 22 octobre 1969.

L’actuelle Loi sur les textes réglementaires fut présentée en réponse aux recommandations du comité MacGuigan. Le gouvernement de l’époque a affirmé que cette mesure législative était « une tentative de rétablir un certain contrôle parlementaire sur l’exécutif et de rétablir l’équilibre dans les relations entre les particuliers et l’État ». L’un des principaux éléments du projet de loi est qu’il prévoyait le renvoi de la plupart des textes réglementaires à un comité d’examen parlementaire.

En fin de compte, il a été décidé que ce comité devrait être un comité mixte des deux Chambres, et le Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation a commencé ses travaux en novembre 1974.

PERSONNEL ATTITRÉ AU COMITÉ MIXTE

Greffier du Comité

Comme il s’agit d’un comité mixte, un greffier provenant du Sénat et un autre provenant de la Chambre des communes y sont affectés et sont qualifiés de cogreffiers. En tant qu’agents impartiaux et indépendants du comité mixte, les cogreffiers sont au service de tous les membres du comité et représentent tous les partis également. Ils s’acquittent de leurs fonctions et responsabilités sous la direction du comité mixte et de ses coprésidents. En leur qualité d’experts des règlements du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes, les cogreffiers peuvent avoir à conseiller les coprésidents et les membres du comité lorsqu’une question de procédure se pose. Ils agissent à titre de coordonnateur, d’organisateur et d’agent de liaison du comité mixte et sont donc appelés à communiquer fréquemment avec le personnel des députés.

Adjoint du Comité

Les adjoints de comité du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes fournissent au comité mixte de multiples services administratifs spécialisés pour, notamment, l’organisation de réunions de comités et la publication des documents sur le site Web des comités. Les adjoints de comité travaillent avec les cogreffiers pour répondre aux besoins du comité mixte.

Analyste du Comité

L‘analyste de la Bibliothèque du Parlement fournit en temps utile des recherches, des analyses et de l’information de fond faisant autorité à tous les membres du Comité. Ils sont un élément important de la mémoire institutionnelle de ce Comité et constituent une ressource unique pour les parlementaires. Avec l’appui des bibliothécaires de recherche, ils travaillent seuls ou au sein d’une équipe multidisciplinaire.

Les analystes peuvent préparer des notes d’information sur les sujets à l’étude, des plans d’étude détaillés, des listes de témoins proposés, des analyses sur un sujet donné accompagnées d’une liste de questions suggérées, des études générales, des ébauches de rapports, des communiqués ou de la correspondance officielle. Ceux qui ont reçu une formation juridique peuvent aider le Comité en ce qui concerne toute question de fond survenant au cours de l’examen d’un projet de loi.

AUTRE RESSOURCE À LA DISPOSITION DU COMITÉ

Le Directeur parlementaire du budget (DPB)

Le Directeur parlementaire du budget a comme mandat de soutenir le Parlement et les parlementaires dans leur rôle de rendre le gouvernement imputable pour sa gestion des ressources publiques. La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité de 2006 donne au DPB le mandat de fournir une analyse indépendante au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes concernant l’état des finances de la nation, les prévisions budgétaires du gouvernement et les tendances de l’économie nationale.

La loi habilitante procure aussi au DPB le mandat de donner un soutien analytique à quelconque comité durant son examen des prévisions budgétaires, ainsi que de donner des conseils à tout parlementaire en ce qui concerne les coûts budgétaires d’une proposition.

Des informations supplémentaires sur le DPB se trouvent à l’adresse: http://www.pbo-dpb.gc.ca/fr/

Le Comité mixte permanent examine chaque année des centaines de textes réglementaires. Les conseillers juridiques du comité procèdent à l’examen initial des textes, et ils attirent l’attention du Comité sur ceux qui ne sont pas conformes. Lorsqu’un problème est repéré, le personnel du comité écrit au ministère responsable de la réglementation pour lui signaler l’enjeu, lui demander quelle est sa position et demander des modifications pour corriger le problème, le cas échéant.

Le Comité tente de résoudre les problèmes décelés dans la réglementation en correspondant avec le ministère ou l’organisme responsable de la réglementation. Si le comité estime que ses négociations avec un ministère en sont arrivées à une impasse, il écrira alors au ministre pertinent afin de tenter de régler le problème. C’est seulement si cette démarche ne donne pas des résultats satisfaisants que le comité envisagera de présenter un rapport aux deux Chambres et qu’il recommandera peut-être le désaveu.

Voici quelques-uns des récents rapports du Comité mixte permanent.

41e législature, 2e session (16 octobre 2013 – présent)

40e législature, 3e session (3 mars 2010 – 26 mars 2011)

Le désaveu est un des moyens traditionnels par lesquels les Parlements peuvent contrôler la législation déléguée. En général, ce terme désigne toute procédure par laquelle les parlementaires peuvent rejeter une mesure législative subordonnée prise par un délégué du Parlement. Au Canada, cependant, le Parlement ne s’en est doté qu’en 1986 et, jusque-là, seules quelques lois donnaient aux chambres le pouvoir de désavouer des règlements adoptés en vertu de leurs dispositions.

Le pouvoir de désaveu a été conféré par modification du Règlement de la Chambre des communes en 1986. À l’époque, il était dévolu à la Chambre, mais pas au Sénat, et s’appliquait uniquement aux textes réglementaires pris par le gouverneur en conseil ou les ministres de la Couronne. En 2003, le Parlement a ajouté l’article 19.1 à la Loi sur les textes réglementaires. Depuis, le pouvoir de désaveu s’applique à tous les règlements dont le Comité est saisi. Pour qu’une résolution portant désaveu soit exécutoire, le Sénat et la Chambre des communes doivent tous deux l’adopter.

L’article 19.1 énonce la marche à suivre pour le désaveu d’un règlement. Seul le Comité mixte permanent peut amorcer une procédure de désaveu. Chaque fois qu’il estime qu’un règlement devrait être abrogé en tout ou en partie, il peut présenter aux deux Chambres un rapport contenant une résolution à cet effet. Il doit toutefois, dans un délai d’au moins 30 jours avant l’adoption de ce rapport, informer l’autorité réglementante de son intention de proposer le désaveu du règlement. Le Comité ne fait que recommander le désaveu. La recommandation doit ensuite être acceptée par les deux Chambres.

Dans les 15 jours de séance suivant le dépôt du rapport de désaveu, un ministre peut présenter à l’une ou l’autre des Chambres ou aux deux une motion demandant de ne pas adopter la résolution de désaveu figurant dans le rapport. Si la motion est présentée, la Chambre qui en est saisie se réunit à 13 heures le mercredi suivant pour l’étudier. L’article 19.1(7) de la Loi permet un débat d’au plus une heure au cours duquel chaque intervenant dispose de 10 minutes. À la fin du débat, la motion est mise aux voix. Si elle est rejetée, la résolution est réputée avoir été adoptée par la Chambre en question; si, au contraire, la motion est adoptée, la résolution de désaveu présentée par le Comité est réputée avoir été rejetée par la Chambre. La résolution est réputée adoptée soit le quinzième jour de séance suivant le dépôt du rapport si aucun ministre ne présente de motion avant, soit le jour où la motion est mise aux voix et rejetée par la Chambre.

Selon l’article 19.1(9) de la Loi, l’autorité réglementante doit abroger les dispositions visées dans les 30 jours – ou au terme du délai plus long prévu par la résolution – suivant le jour où la résolution a été adoptée ou est réputée l’avoir été par le Sénat et la Chambre des communes.

Ce ne sont pas tous les rapports du Comité qui renferment une résolution de désaveu. Un rapport pourrait recommander qu’un règlement soit abrogé sans invoquer la procédure même. Il s’agit d’un type de rapport que le Comité continue de présenter.