Skip to main content

REGS Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication



OTTAWA, Monday, June 5, 2023


Pursuant to the orders of the Senate of February 10, 2022 and February 1, 2023 and the order of the House of Commons of November 25, 2021, the Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations met this day in room W120, 1 Wellington Street, and with videoconference, at 11:02 a.m., the joint chair, Dan Albas, presiding.

Representing the Senate by videoconference: The Honourable Senator Woo (1).

Representing the House of Commons: Dan Albas, Dean Allison, Jenica Atwin, Élisabeth Brière, Scot Davidson, Jean-Denis Garon, Randall Garrison, Len Webber and Sameer Zuberi (9).

Representing the House of Commons by videoconference: Shaun Chen and Taleeb Noormohamed (2).

Participating in the meeting: Christine Holke, Joint Clerk of the Committee, House of Commons; Elda Donnelly, Administrative Assistant, Senate of Canada; Tanya Dupuis, General Counsel and Shawn Abel, Geoffrey Hilton and Geneviève Lévesque, counsels, Library of Parliament.

The committee proceeded to consider its permanent order of reference, as set out in section 19 of the Statutory Instruments Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. S-22, which provides for the following:

Every statutory instrument issued, made or established after December 31, 1971, other than an instrument the inspection of which and the obtaining of copies of which are precluded by any regulations made pursuant to paragraph 20(d), shall stand permanently referred to any Committee of the House of Commons, of the Senate or of both Houses of Parliament that may be established for the purpose of reviewing and scrutinizing statutory instruments.


Department of National Defence:

Lieutenant-General Lise Bourgon, Acting Commmander, Military Personnel Command & Acting Chief Military Personnel;

Brigadier-General Virginia Tattersall, Director General, Compensation and Benefits;

Steve Irwin, Director, Pension and Social Programs.

Lieutenant-General Lise Bourgon made a statement and, together with Brigadier-General Virginia Tattersall and Steve Irwin, answered questions.

At 11:52 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11:57 a.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed that the committee allow the transcription of the in camera portion of today’s meeting, that one copy be kept with the general counsel for consultation by committee members and/or staff, and that the transcript be destroyed by the general counsel when authorized to do so by the joint chairs, but no later than at the end of this parliamentary session.

It was agreed that, unless otherwise ordered, each committee member be allowed to be accompanied by one staff person at in camera meetings and that each party be allowed one additional staff person at such meetings.

In the matter of SOR/94-276, Canadian Forces Superannuation Regulations, amendment (reviewed by the committee on June 11, 1998, April 5, 2001, May 31, 2007, March 3, 2011, March 1, 2012, November 21, 2013, December 8, 2016, May 16, 2022, February 13, 2023, May 1, 2023 and May 29, 2023), it was agreed that the joint chairs write to the Minister of National Defence to request that she commit to a date on which she will appear before the committee, before a deadline set by the joint chairs in the letter.

At 12:45 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the joint chairs.


Sara Gajic

Joint Clerk of the Committee