Skip to main content

REGS Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Proceedings of the Standing Joint Committee for the 
Scrutiny of Regulations

Issue 19 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 4, 2017

OTTAWA, Thursday, May 4, 2017


The Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations met this day at 8:30 a.m., in room 256-S, Centre Block, the joint chairs, the Honourable Senator Joseph A. Day and Mr. Harold Albrecht, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Day, Runciman and Wallin (3).

Representing the House of Commons: Harold Albrecht, Vance Badawey, Nicola Di lorio, Kerry Diotte, Pierre-Luc Dusseault, Ali Ehsassi, Garnett Genuis, Glen Motz, John Oliver, Kim Rudd, Francis Scarpaleggia and Salma Zahid (12).

Also present: Evelyne Borkowski-Parent, General Counsel, Shawn Abel, Counsel and Cynthia Kirkby, Counsel, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament and Jean-Marie David, Joint Clerk of the Committee (House of Commons).

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

The committee proceeded to consider its permanent order of reference, as set out in section 19, the Statutory Instruments Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. S-22, which provides for the following:

Every statutory instrument issued, made or established after December 31, 1971, other than an instrument the inspection of which and the obtaining of copies of which are precluded by any regulations made pursuant to paragraph 20(d), shall stand permanently referred to any committee of the House of Commons, of the Senate or of both Houses of Parliament that may be established for the purpose of reviewing and scrutinizing statutory instruments.


Employment and Social Development Canada:

Gary Robertson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Labour Program;

Brenda Baxter, Director General, Workplace Directorate, Labour Program.

Department of Justice:

Mark McCombs, Senior General Counsel, Head of Legal Services;

Bernard Auger, General Counsel, Legislative Services Branch.

The joint chair made a statement.

Mr. Robertson made a statement and, together with Messrs. McCombs, Auger and Ms. Baxter, answered questions.

At 9:17 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:18 a.m., the committee resumed.

In the matter of SOR/2008-222 — Wage Earner Protection Program Regulations, it was agreed that the joint chairs correspond with the Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour with respect to certain comments made by the committee.

Mr. Motz moved:

That the committee now proceed to sit in camera and that, notwithstanding usual practice, members' assistants be allowed to remain.

The question being put on the motion, it was adopted.

At 9:31 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 9:32 a.m., the committee resumed in camera to consider a draft agenda (future business).

At 10:49 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxwell Hollins

Joint Clerk of the Committee (Senate)