Skip to main content

REGS Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting no. 14

Thursday, April 11, 2002


The Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations met at 8:35 a.m. this day, in Room 160-S, Centre Block, the Joint Chairs, the Honourable Céline Hervieux-Payette, P.C., and Mr. Gurmant Grewal, M.P., presiding

Representing the Senate:  The Honourable Senators Gérald-A. Beaudoin, Céline Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Wilfred P. Moore, Pierre Claude Nolin, and Landon Pearson (5).

Representing the House of Commons:  Larry Bagnell (for Paul Macklin), Pierre Brien, John Cummins, Wayne Easter (for Sue Barnes), Georges Farrah (for Gar Knutson, P.C.), Gurmant Grewal, Derek Lee, James Lunney (for Jim Gouk), Paul Macklin, Marcel Proulx (for Lynn Myers), Tom Wappel, and Ted White (12).

In attendance:  Till Heyde, Joint Clerk of the Committee (Senate); Jean-Michel Roy, Joint Clerk of the Committee (House of Commons); and François-R. Bernier and Peter Bernhardt, Counsel to the Committee, Parliamentary Research Branch, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance:  The official reporters of the Senate.

The Committee considered its permanent Order of Reference, section 19, the Statutory Instruments Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. S-22, which follows:

Every statutory instrument issued, made or established after December 31, 1971, other than an instrument the inspection of which and the obtaining of copies of which are precluded by any regulations made pursuant to paragraph 20(d), shall stand permanently referred to any Committee of the House of Commons, of the Senate or of both Houses of Parliament that may be established for the purpose of reviewing and scrutinizing statutory instruments.


The Honourable Robert G. Thibault, P.C., M.P., Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.


From the Department of Fisheries and Oceans:

François-Bernard Côté, Q.C., Senior General Counsel, Legal Services;

Sharon Ashley, Director General, Policy Coordination and Liaison;

Steve Tierney, Director General, Aboriginal Policy and Governance Directorate.

The Honourable Robert Thibault, P.C., M.P., made a presentation, and, together with Mr. Côté, Ms. Ashley, and Mr. Tierney, answered questions on SOR/93-332 – Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licences Regulations; SOR/94-390 – Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licences Regulations, amendment; SOR/94-531 – Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licences Regulations, amendment; and SOR/95-106 – Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licences Regulations, amendment. 

Mr. Cummins moved that Counsel bring forward another draft disallowance report at the next meeting of the Committee.

After debate, the question being put on the motion, it was negatived on the following division:

YEAS – 7

The Honourable Senators:

Beaudoin and Nolin –2.

Members of the House of Commons:

Gurmant Grewal, John Cummins, James Lunney, Pierre Brien, Ted White – 5.

NAYS – 9

The Honourable Senators:

Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Moore, and Pearson – 3.

Members of the House of Commons:

Wayne Easter, Georges Farrah, Derek Lee, Marcel Proulx, Tom Wappel, and Larry Bagnell – 6.

It was agreed that, at its April 25, 2002 meeting, the Committee again hear from the departmental officials.

At  11:00 a.m., it was agreed that the Committee adjourn to the call of the Joint Chairs.




Till Heyde

Joint Clerk of the Committee (Senate)