Skip to main content

BILI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 6
Thursday, February 3, 2011

The Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament met at 12:07 p.m. this day, in Room C-120, 1 Wellington Street, the Joint Chair, Royal Galipeau, presiding.


Members of the Committee present representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Tommy Banks, Stephen Greene, Michael L. MacDonald and Terry Stratton.


Members of the Committee present representing the House of Commons: Gérard Asselin, Hon. Mauril Bélanger, Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Rob Clarke, Royal Galipeau, Carol Hughes, Greg Kerr, James Lunney, Hon. Gurbax S. Malhi and Louis Plamondon.


Associate Members from the House of Commons present: Leon Benoit and James Bezan.


In attendance: Senate: Keli Hogan, Joint Clerk of the Committee. Library of Parliament: Élise Hurtubise-Loranger, Analyst; Sonya Norris, Analyst.


Witnesses: Library of Congress of Chile: Soledad Ferreiro, Director. House of Commons of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland: John Pullinger, Librarian and Director General, Department of Information Services. House of Lords of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland: Benet Hiscock, Director of Public Information, Information Office.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 4, 2010, Standing Order 108(4)(a) of the House of Commons and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, November 18, 2010, the Committee resumed its study of Parliament 2020.

Soledad Ferreiro, by videoconference from Santiago, Chile, John Pullinger and Benet Hiscock, both by videoconference from London, United Kingdom, made statements and answered questions.


At 1:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Paul Cardegna
Joint Clerk of the Committee

2011/04/14 1:18 p.m.