Skip to main content

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association



October 24, 2023

Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association to honour founding Co-Chairs the Hon. Raynell Andreychuk and the late Hon. Mauril Bélanger

As part of the 20th anniversary of the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association (CAAF), the Co-Chairs, the Honourable Amina Gerba, Senator, and Ms. Brenda Shanahan, M.P. will preside over a recognition ceremony in honour of CAAF’s co-founders, the Honourable Raynell Andreychuk, who was appointed to the Senate of Canada in 1993 and served for 26 years, and the late Honourable Mauril Bélanger, Member of Parliament for Ottawa-Vanier from 1995 to 2016.

Date: Thursday, October 26, 2023
Time: 8:30 a.m
Location: Room 215-A, West Block

Media wishing to interview the Co-Chairs, Senator Andreychuk, or Mr. Bélanger’s representatives are asked to assemble outside of Room 215-A no later than 8:15 a.m., before the ceremony.


Note to editors: Media attendance is for accredited members of the Canadian Parliamentary Press Gallery. For temporary accreditation, please contact Philippe Perrier, Manager, Operational Services & Press Events for the Canadian Parliamentary Press Gallery, at 613-992-6517 or by email at

ABOUT: Established in 2003, the Canada–Africa Parliamentary Association promotes exchanges between African and Canadian parliamentarians and proposes initiatives aimed at fostering better mutual understanding of national and international problems. In addition, the Association works to develop ties with regional parliamentary groupings and the Pan-African Parliament.

For more information, please contact:
Freddy Bobo Mukinayi, Association Secretary