Skip to main content

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group



13 August 2019


From 21–25 July 2019, Senator Yuen Pau Woo and Randy Hoback, M.P., Vice-Chairs of the Canadian Section of the Canada–United States Inter-Parliamentary Group (IPG), led a delegation to the 29th annual summit of the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region (PNWER), which was held in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. The other members of the delegation were Senators Jim Munson, David Tkachuk and Pamela Wallin.

“Our delegation was pleased to attend PNWER’s annual summit,” said Senator Woo. “Our nations have a long shared history of being allies and partners, and it is important for all levels of government to foster this relationship. PNWER’s annual summit provides IPG members with the opportunity to discuss regional cross-border initiatives with state and provincial/territorial legislators, as well as engage with private and non-profit organizations that are working to strengthen economic relations between our nations.”

Mr. Hoback concluded: “Our delegation found the summit’s sessions interesting and informative, and we thank the organizers for their hard work. Many of the topics discussed at the summit – including the ratification of the Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement, border security, innovation, livestock health, infrastructure and disaster resilience, among others – are important concerns for both of our countries. The information gained during these sessions will help our delegates with their legislative work going forward.”

PNWER, which was created in 1991, is a statutory, bi-national public-private partnership comprising five U.S. states – Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington – and, in Canada, three provinces and two territories – Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan, the Northwest Territories and Yukon. Additional information about PNWER can be found at:

The views expressed in this news release are specific to the Canadian Section of the Canada–United States Inter-Parliamentary Group.

The Canada–United States IPG aims to find points of convergence in respective national policies, to initiate dialogue on points of divergence, to encourage the exchange of information and to promote better understanding among legislators on shared issues of concern. Additional information on the IPG can be found at


For further information:

Hon. Michael L. MacDonald, Senator, Co-Chair
Canada–U.S. Inter-Parliamentary Group - 613-995-1866

Hon. Wayne Easter, P.C., M.P., Co-Chair
Canada–U.S. Inter-Parliamentary Group - 613-992-2406

Ms. Miriam Burke, Association Secretary
Canada–U.S. Inter-Parliamentary Group - 613-944-4238