Canada - United States Inter-Parliamentary Group Canadian Section



Groupe interparlementaire Canada - États-Unis Section canadienne

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 16, 2015

CANADIAN PARLIAMENTARIAN ATTENDS MEETING OF U.S. SOUTHERN GOVERNORS

From 15–16 October 2015, Senator Percy Downe represented the Canadian Section of the Canada–United States Inter-Parliamentary Group at the 2015 annual meeting of the Southern Governors' Association (SGA). The meeting, which had "The Future of Work in the American South" as its theme, was held in St. Louis, Missouri and was chaired by Governor Jay Nixon. At the meeting, discussions were held on topics that included the "future" of work, renewable energy, regional manufacturing and rural health care.

Founded in 1934, the SGA is the oldest of the regional governors' associations and has a long history of promoting the common interests of the governors of the 16 U.S. southern states (see the Appendix). The SGA provides a bipartisan forum in which to help shape and implement national policy, as well as to solve regional problems, improve the quality of life of residents of the U.S. South, and secure an economically vibrant and prosperous American South.

It should be noted that the views expressed in this news release are specific to the Canadian Section of the Canada–United States Inter-Parliamentary Group and, as such, may not reflect the views of U.S. counterparts.

The Canada–United States Inter-Parliamentary Group aims to find points of convergence in respective national policies, to initiate dialogue on points of divergence, to encourage the exchange of information and to promote better understanding among legislators on shared issues of concern. Additional information on the Group can be found at www.parl.gc.ca/iia/us.

-30-

For further information: Mrs. Miriam Burke, Association Secretary Canada–U.S. Inter-Parliamentary Group - 613-944-4238

Appendix

U.S. States in the Southern Governors' Association

Alabama Arkansas Florida Georgia Kentucky Louisiana

Maryland

Mississippi

Missouri North Carolina Oklahoma South Carolina Tennessee

Texas

Virginia

West Virginia