

JOINT INTERPARLIAMENTARY COUNCIL

CONSEIL INTERPARLEMENTAIRE MIXTE

Minutes

Meeting No. 150 April 13, 2016

The Joint Interparliamentary Council met this day at 3:41 p.m., in room 356-S of the Centre Block, Bruce Stanton, M.P., presiding.

Representing the Senate: Donald Plett and Jim Munson, Senators.

<u>Representing the House of Commons:</u> Bruce Stanton, Andrew Leslie, Hon. Wayne Easter, Yasmin Ratansi for Scott Simms, Dave Mackenzie, Irene Mathyssen and Ginette Petitpas Taylor, MPs.

Others present

Chairs and Co-Chairs of Parliamentary Associations:

Hon. Raynell Andreychuk, Senator, Co-Chair of the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association Yasmin Ratansi, M.P., Chair of the Canadian Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Jean Rioux, M.P., Chair of the Canadian NATO Parliamentary Association (NATO PA) Frank Baylis, M.P., Chair of the Canada-United Kingdom Inter-Parliamentary Association Hon. Janis G. Johnson, Senator, Co-Chair of the Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group Hon. Wayne Easter, C.P., M.P., Co-Chair of the Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group

In attendance:

From the International and Interparliamentary Affairs Directorate:

Patrice Martin, Deputy Principal Clerk, Parliamentary Associations; Gérald Lafrenière, Principal Clerk, Parliamentary Exchanges and Protocol; and Gilles Larocque, Manager, Resource Planning and Administration

From the Senate:

Khatera Akbari, Acting Manager, Financial Policy, Planning and Corporate Reporting.

From the House of Commons:

André Simard, Manager, Financial Planning, Policy and Financial Planning; Stefany Rockburn, Senior Financial Advisor, Policy and Financial Planning.

1. Approval of Minutes

On motion of Dave MacKenzie, the minutes of the meeting of March 9, 2016 were adopted.

2. Associations Budgets (2016-2017) – Presentations by Association Chairs/Co-Chairs

Hon. Raynell Andreychuk, Senator, Co-Chair of the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association, presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2016-2017 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Yasmin Ratansi, MP, Chair of the Canadian Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2016-2017 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Jean Rioux, MP, Chair of the Canadian NATO Parliamentary Association (NATO PA), presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2016-2017 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Frank Baylis, MP, President of the Executive Committee of the Canada-United Kingdom Inter-Parliamentary Association, presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2016-2017 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Hon. Janis G. Johnson, Senator, and Hon. Wayne Easter, MP, Co-Chairs of the Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group, presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2016-2017 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

On motion of Dave Mackenzie, it was agreed that the Council proceed *in camera* for the purpose of discussing budget allocations.

At 4:52 p.m. the Council proceeded to sit *in camera*.

It was agreed that, with the exception of Canada-France and Canada-UK, there be an additional allotment of \$50,000 to each association and that the Council discuss the allocation of remaining funds at its next meeting

At 5:15 p.m., the Council adjourned to the call of the Co-Chairs.

Colette Labrecque-Riel Clerk