Skip to main content

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Parliament Logo

Joint Interparliamentary Council

Conseil interparlementaire mixte


Meeting No. 180

February 26, 2020

The Joint Interparliamentary Council met in camera this day at 12:25 p.m., in room 505 of the Victoria Building, Mr. Bruce Stanton, MP, presiding.

Representing the Senate:  Hon. Donald Plett, Hon. Dennis Dawson and Hon. Ratna Omidvar.

Representing the House of Commons:  Hon. Wayne Easter, Dave MacKenzie for John Brassard, Lindsay Mathyssen, Hon. David McGuinty, Hon. Ginette Petitpas Taylor, and Marilène Gill, MPs.

In attendance:

From the International and Interparliamentary Affairs Directorate: Patrice Martin, Deputy Principal Clerk, Parliamentary Associations; Mariane Beaudin, Deputy Principal Clerk, Parliamentary Associations, Conferences and Logistics; Jubilee Jackson, Deputy Principal Clerk, Parliamentary Associations, Conferences and Logistics.

From the Senate: Guylaine Quevillon, Financial Advisor, Finance and Procurement Directorate.

From the Library of Parliament: Laura Barnett, Chief, Human Rights, Immigration and Citizenship; Alexandre Gauthier, Chief, Resources, Energy and Transport.

1. Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the meeting of May 29, 2019 were adopted.

2. Request for an exemption as to how many staff can travel:

It was agreed -- That, notwithstanding the JIC rule regarding the number of staff permitted to travel with a delegation of five or more delegates, the Canadian Group of the IPU be permitted to travel with 3 staff to the 142nd Assembly in Geneva, Switzerland in April of 2020.

3. Financial Update for current fiscal year 2019-2020:

The Clerk provided an update of the financial status for fiscal year 2019-2020.

4. Process for the 2020-2021 associations’ budget allocation:

It was agreed -- That, in advance of further consideration with regards to associations’ budgets for the 2020-2021 fiscal year, there be an allotment of $75,000 to each association, with the exception of Canada-France and Canada-UK that would each receive $50,000, in order to meet expenses related to activities coming up early in the new fiscal year, and

That the Co-Chairs write to Associations Chairs and Co-Chairs indicating that the Council will study written budget requests on April 22nd and that the requests should be submitted no later than March 27th and be made available to the Council on the Digital Binders site.

5. Decisions made by the Co-Chairs on behalf of the JIC:

The Co-Chair informed the Council that the JIC Co-Chairs had considered 4 requests from associations and their corresponding decisions.

The following associations requested and were granted the following sums:

Canadian Delegation to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Parliamentary Assembly (SECO) $20,000
Canadian Branch of the Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie (CAPF) $15,000
Canadian Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CCOM) $20,000
Total $55,000

The following association sought and was granted permission to allow additional staff to travel:

Canadian Branch of the Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie That a delegate be accompanied by one staff to a Mission to the Democratic Republic of Congo.

6. Update on Proactive disclosure:

The Clerk provided an update on Proactive Disclosure.

It was agreed that IIA staff provide all Associations Executive committees with a detailed presentation on Proactive Disclosure before June 21st, 2020.

7. Supplementary Funds requests:

It was agreed that the Canadian Branch of ParAmericas be allotted an additional $60,000 in order to fund the upcoming Meeting of Boards of Directors in Brasilia, Brazil, April 1-3, 2020.

It was agreed that the Canadian Branch of the Assemblée Parlementaire de la Francophonie be allotted an additional $15,000 in order to fund the upcoming meeting of the Network of Women Parliamentarians in French Polynesia, from March 30 to April 1, 2020.

At 1:47 p.m. the Council adjourned to the call of the Co-Chairs.

Patrice Martin

Acting Clerk