

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 20, 2019

The Canadian Branch of the *Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie* (APF) presents its award recipients for l'*Ordre de la Pléiade* 2019

Ottawa, March 20, 2019 – The Canadian Branch of the *Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie* (APF) is proud to announce the names of the new members of the *Ordre de la Pléiade* for 2019.

This year, the *Ordre de la Pléiade* award recipients are:

- The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, PC, MP, Prime Minister of Canada Grand Croix
- The Honourable Thomas Mulcair, PC, Professor, Université de Montréal and Political Commentator Commandeur
- The Honourable Andrew Scheer, PC, MP, Leader of the Official Opposition Commandeur
- Mr. Louis Caron, Writer Chevalier
- Mr. Léo Denis Carpentier, Producer and Founder, Festival de films en environnement de Portneuf (FFEP) – Chevalier
- Mr. Ben Van De Walle, Calgary's francophone community Contributor Chevalier

"The Canadian Branch of the APF is proud to present its award recipients for 2019. These recipients are from diverse professional backgrounds and come from many different regions of the country. It is demonstrating clearly that our Francophonie is strong at alllevels and throughout the country. We congratulate them for their contributions and accomplishments," said Mr. Darrell Samson, President of the Canadian Branch of the APF.

Established in 1967, the *Ordre de la Pléiade* is an APF initiative that honours achievement in La Francophonie and cultural dialogue. It recognizes individuals who have helped

promote the French language in Canada. The five ranks of the *Ordre de la Pléiade* are as follows: Chevalier, Officier, Commandeur, Grand Officier and Grand Croix.

The APF consists of parliamentarians from 87 parliaments or interparliamentary organizations from five continents. Its mandate is to foster the spread of the French language internationally and the recognition of cultural diversity, and to promote and defend democracy, the rule of law and human rights.

-30-

For information, please contact: more Lafleur Jean-François Association Secretary Canadian Branch of the Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie (APF) 131 Queen Street, Suite 05-28 Ottawa, Ontario

assem.franco@parl.gc.ca Tel.: (613) 995-9560