

Joint Interparliamentary Council (JIC) Conseil interparlementaire mixte (CIM)

#### Minutes

## Meeting No. 163

#### June 14, 2017

The Joint Interparliamentary Council met this day, in camera, at 4:05 p.m., in room 356-S of the Centre Block, Mr. Bruce Stanton, M.P., presiding.

Representing the Senate: Hon. Percy Downe and Hon. Donald Plett, Senators.

Representing the House of Commons: Dave Mackenzie, Christine Moore for Irene Mathyssen, Yasmin Ratansi for the Hon. Wayne Easter, Hon. Pablo Rodriguez, Scott Simms, Bruce Stanton and Filomena Tassi, MPs.

Also present: Hon. Michael MacDonald, Senator

In attendance:

From the International and Interparliamentary Affairs Directorate: Danielle Labonté, Deputy Principal Clerk, Parliamentary Associations; Gilles Larocque, Manager, Resource Planning and Administration.

From the Senate: Guylaine Quevillon, Financial Advisor, Finance and Procurement Directorate.

From the House of Commons: Kim Monaghan, Financial Advisor, Policy and Financial Planning.

From the Library of Parliament: Marcus Pistor, Senior Director, Economics, Resources and International Affairs Division; Christine Ivory, Chief, International Affairs, International Affairs Section.

## 1. Approval of the Minutes of the Meeting of May 31, 2017:

By unanimous consent, the minutes of the meeting of May 31, 2017 were adopted.

## 2. Letter received from CIBA regarding membership fees:

The Council reviewed the letter from CIBA requesting that the Council assess the relevance of Parliamentary Associations and Interparliamentary Groups' membership fees. It was agreed that the Council study the matter in the Fall.

# 3. Study of the Final Report of the Subcommittee on the Review of Parliament's Involvement with Associations and Recognized Interparliamentary Groups:

Mr. Simms, Chair of the Subcommittee made a presentation of the report and the recommendations put forward for consideration. Members of the Council asked questions. It was agreed that the Council consider each recommendation in the Fall.

At 5:20 p.m., the Council adjourned to the call of the Co-Chairs.

Colette Labrecque-Riel Clerk