

Joint Interparliamentary Council

Conseil interparlementaire mixte

Minutes

Meeting No. 136

February 26, 2014

The Joint Interparliamentary Council met this day at 3:30 p.m., in room 356-S of the Centre Block, Mr. Joe Comartin, MP, presiding.

<u>Representing the Senate</u>: Hon. David Tkachuk, Marjory LeBreton and Jim Munson, Senators.

<u>Representing the House of Commons</u>: Joe Comartin, Dave Mackenzie, Sadia Groguhé, Frank Valeriote and Randy Hoback, MPs.

Others present:

| Chairs | an | d | Co-Cha | irs | of | Par | liamentary | A | Associations: |
|----------------------------|---------|-----|---------|--------------|--------|----------|-----------------|------------------|---------------|
| Joe | Prestor | | | , | MP | | ЛP | (CPA); | |
| Ed | Holder | a | and | James | R | Rajotte, | MPs | (0 | Canada-UK); |
| Hon. | Mauril | | | Bélange | r, | MP | | (Canada-Africa); | |
| Hon. | Victor | Oh, | Senator | (repres | enting | the | Canada-0 | China | Co-Chairs); |
| Randy | Hoback, | | | MP | | | (ParlAmericas); | | |
| Hon. | Salma | | Ata | Ataullahjan, | | Senator | | (IPU); | and |
| Cheryl Gallant, MP (NATO). | | | | | | | | | |

In attendance:

From the International and Interparliamentary Affairs Directorate: Natalie Foster, Deputy Principal Clerk, Parliamentary Associations; and Marie-Andrée Rainville, Manager, Resource Planning and Administration.

<u>From the Senate</u>: Sloan Mask, Financial Advisor, Planning and Corporate Reporting, Finance and Procurement Directorate.

<u>From the House of Commons</u>: Naim Bellemare, Senior Financial Advisor, Policy and Financial Planning.

1. Approval of Minutes:

On motion of Senator Munson, the minutes of the meeting of February 11, 2014 were approved.

2. Status of Liberal Senators:

The Chair drew to the attention of the Council a letter received from the Leader of the Liberal Party in response to a letter from the Chair of the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association regarding the status of Liberal Senators' participation in parliamentary associations and a short discussion ensued.

3. Association Budgets:

Joe Preston, MP, Chair of the Canadian Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Ed Holder, MP, Chair of the Canada-United Kingdom Inter-Parliamentary Association, and James Rajotte, MP, Member of the Executive Committee of the Canada-United Kingdom Inter-Parliamentary Association, presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Hon. Mauril Bélanger, MP, Co-Chair of the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association, presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Hon. Victor Oh, Senator, Vice-Chair of the Canada-China Legislative Association, presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Randy Hoback, MP, Chair of the Canadian Section of ParlAmericas, presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Hon. Salma Ataullahjan, Senator, Chair of the Canadian Group of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU), presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

Cheryl Gallant, MP, Chair of Canadian NATO Parliamentary Association (NATO PA), presented the work and planned activities of the association, as well as their related budget request for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, and answered questions from JIC members.

At 5:29 p.m., the Council adjourned to the call of the Co-Chairs.

Eric Janse

Clerk