

Joint Interparliamentary Council

Conseil interparlementaire mixte

Minutes

Meeting No. 143 February 4, 2015

The Joint Interparliamentary Council met this day at 3:35 p.m., in room 356-S of the Centre Block, Mr. Joe Comartin, MP, presiding.

<u>Representing the Senate</u>: Hon. David Tkachuk, Marjory LeBreton, and Jim Munson, Senators.

<u>Representing the House of Commons</u>: Joe Comartin, Dave Mackenzie, Sadia Groguhé, Frank Valeriote, MPs.

In attendance:

From the International and Interparliamentary Affairs Directorate: Patrice Martin, Deputy Principal Clerk, Parliamentary Associations; Gérald Lafrenière, Deputy Principal Clerk, Parliamentary Exchanges; and Marie-Andrée Rainville, Manager, Resource Planning and Administration.

<u>From the Senate</u>: Sloan Mask, Financial Advisor, Planning and Corporate Reporting, Finance and Procurement Directorate

<u>From the House of Commons</u>: Naim Bellemare, Senior Financial Advisor, Policy and Financial Planning.

1. Approval of Minutes:

On motion of Dave Mackenzie, the minutes of the meeting of November 19, 2014 were approved.

2. Supplementary Budget Requests:

The Council considered requests for additional funding from the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association and the Canada-Africa Parliamentary Association.

After debate, on motion of Mr. Mackenzie, it was agreed that the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association be allotted an additional \$8,000 and that the Canada-Africa

Parliamentary Association be allotted an additional \$50,000 in order to fund their upcoming activities.

3. Annual general meetings:

After debate, on motion of Dave Mackenzie, it was agreed that the co-chairs write to all Chairs

Co-Chairs of Parliamentary Associations to remind them of their obligation to hold an annual general meeting, even though 2015 is an election year.

4. Association membership fees:

The Council considered a proposition made by Joe Preston, MP, at an earlier meeting, that would see parliamentarians pay their parliamentary association membership fees once per Parliament instead of once a year, as is the current practice.

After debate, on motion of Dave Mackenzie, it was agreed that the current practice of paying membership fees once a year be maintained.

At 4:00 p.m., the Council adjourned to the call of the Co-Chairs.

Eric Janse Clerk