## **NEWS RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

1 September 2017

## CANADIAN IPG MEMBERS ATTEND MEETING OF NEW ENGLAND GOVERNORS AND EASTERN CANADIAN PREMIERS

From 27–29 August 2017, the Honourable Wayne Easter, P.C., M.P., Co-Chair of the Canadian Section of the Canada–United States Inter-Parliamentary Group, led a delegation to the annual meeting of New England governors and Eastern Canadian premiers in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. The other members of the delegation were Senators Norman Doyle and Diane Griffin, Vice-Chair, as well as Mr. Randy Hoback, M.P. and the Honourable John McKay, P.C., M.P.

"I was very happy to be able to lead the Inter-Parliamentary Group's delegation to this meeting in my home province," said Mr. Easter. "Of course, I was also pleased to see that the meeting's agenda was focused on some issues that are a key focus for the Group, including the significant relationship between Canada and the United States, as well as innovation in a number of areas for our joint benefit. In addition, our private meeting with Connecticut Governor Malloy provided us with a welcome opportunity to highlight aspects of the relationship that Canada has with his state."

Senator Griffin concluded: "I too was glad that this important meeting was held in the province that I represent in Canada's Senate. Certainly, I know that my colleagues and I gained insights during the meeting's presentations that will guide our legislative work when Parliament resumes sitting next month. In particular, the discussion with industry leaders about their trade-related needs will be valuable as modernization of NAFTA continues."

Established in 1973, the Conference of New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers is an inter-regional, bi-national organization of 11 jurisdictions: six New England states – Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont – and five Eastern Canadian provinces – New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Quebec. The governors and premiers meet to address issues of shared concern and to cooperate in a variety of areas.

The views expressed in this news release are specific to the Canadian Section of the Canada–U.S. IPG. As such, they may not reflect the views of U.S. counterparts.

The Canada–United States Inter-Parliamentary Group aims to find points of convergence in respective national policies, to initiate dialogue on points of divergence, to encourage the exchange of information, and to promote better understanding among legislators on shared issues of concern. Additional information can be found at: <a href="https://www.parl.gc.ca/iia/us">www.parl.gc.ca/iia/us</a>.

-30-

## For further information:

Hon. Michael L. MacDonald, Senator, Co-Chair Canada–U.S. Inter-Parliamentary Group - 613-995-1866

Hon. Wayne Easter, P.C., M.P., Co-Chair Canada–U.S. Inter-Parliamentary Group - 613-992-2406

Ms. Miriam Burke, Association Secretary Canada–U.S. Inter-Parliamentary Group - 613-944-4238