Skip to main content

About

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
(December 3, 2015 - Present)
Select a different session
The Special Joint Committee on Physician-Assisted Dying was appointed to review the report of the External Panel on Options for a Legislative Response to Carter v. Canada and other recent relevant consultation activities and studies, to consult with Canadians, experts and stakeholders, and make recommendations on the framework of a federal response on physician-assisted dying that respects the Constitution, the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, and the priorities of Canadians.

STAFF ASSIGNED TO THE JOINT COMMITTEE

Committee Clerk

As this is a joint committee, there are committee clerks assigned from both the Senate and the House of Commons and they are referred to as joint clerks. The joint clerks of the joint committee are non-partisan and independent officers who serve all members of the committee and representatives of all parties equally. The joint clerks perform their duties and responsibilities under the direction of the joint committee and the joint Chairs. As experts in the rules of the Senate and the House of Commons, the joint clerks may be requested to give advice to the joint Chairs and members of the committee should a question of procedure arise. The joint clerks coordinate, organize and serve as liaison officers for the joint committee and as such will be in frequent contact with members’ staff.

Committee Assistant

The committee assistants from the Senate and the House of Commons provide a wide range of specialized administrative services for, in particular, the organization of committee meetings and the publishing of documents on the committees’ website. The committee assistants work with the joint clerks to meet the needs of the joint committee.

Committee Analyst

The Library of Parliament’s analyst provides authoritative, substantive, and timely research, analysis and information to all members of the Committee. They are part of the Committee’s institutional memory and are a unique resource for parliamentarians. Supported by research librarians, analyst works individually or in multidisciplinary teams.

Analysts can prepare: briefing notes on the subjects being examined; detailed study plans; lists of proposed witnesses; analyses of an issue with a list of suggested questions; background papers; draft reports; news releases; and/or formal correspondence. Analysts with legal training can assist the Committee regarding any substantive issues that may arise during the consideration of bills.

Passer au contenu

À propos

42e législature, 1re session
(3 décembre 2015 - présent)
Choisir une session différente
Le Comité mixte spécial sur l’aide médicale à mourir a été formé pour examiner le rapport du Comité externe sur les options de réponse législative à Carter c. Canada, ainsi que d’autres activités de consultation et études récentes pertinentes, consulter les Canadiens, les experts et les intervenants, et formuler des recommandations sur le cadre d’une réponse fédérale à l’aide médicale à mourir respectueuse de la Constitution, de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, et des priorités des Canadiens.

PERSONNEL ATTITRÉ AU COMITÉ MIXTE

Greffier du Comité

Comme il s’agit d’un comité mixte, un greffier provenant du Sénat et un autre provenant de la Chambre des communes y sont affectés et sont qualifiés de cogreffiers. En tant qu’agents impartiaux et indépendants du comité mixte, les cogreffiers sont au service de tous les membres du comité et représentent tous les partis également. Ils s’acquittent de leurs fonctions et responsabilités sous la direction du comité mixte et de ses coprésidents. En leur qualité d’experts des règlements du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes, les cogreffiers peuvent avoir à conseiller les coprésidents et les membres du comité lorsqu’une question de procédure se pose. Ils agissent à titre de coordonnateur, d’organisateur et d’agent de liaison du comité mixte et sont donc appelés à communiquer fréquemment avec le personnel des députés.

Adjoint du Comité

Les adjoints de comité du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes fournissent au comité mixte de multiples services administratifs spécialisés pour, notamment, l’organisation de réunions de comités et la publication des documents sur le site Web des comités. Les adjoints de comité travaillent avec les cogreffiers pour répondre aux besoins du comité mixte.

Analyste du Comité

L‘analyste de la Bibliothèque du Parlement fournit en temps utile des recherches, des analyses et de l’information de fond faisant autorité à tous les membres du Comité. Ils sont un élément important de la mémoire institutionnelle de ce Comité et constituent une ressource unique pour les parlementaires. Avec l’appui des bibliothécaires de recherche, ils travaillent seuls ou au sein d’une équipe multidisciplinaire.

Les analystes peuvent préparer des notes d’information sur les sujets à l’étude, des plans d’étude détaillés, des listes de témoins proposés, des analyses sur un sujet donné accompagnées d’une liste de questions suggérées, des études générales, des ébauches de rapports, des communiqués ou de la correspondance officielle. Ceux qui ont reçu une formation juridique peuvent aider le Comité en ce qui concerne toute question de fond survenant au cours de l’examen d’un projet de loi.