Skip to main content

About

42nd Parliament, 1st Session (December 3, 2015 - September 11, 2019) Latest Session

The 42nd Parliament was dissolved on September 11, 2019.

Dissolution occurs when the Governor General, on the advice of the Prime Minister, issues a proclamation putting an end to the current Parliament, which triggers a general election.

In practice, as soon as Parliament is dissolved, all committee activity ceases and, as such, all orders of reference and committee studies lapse. No committee may sit during a dissolution.

The information on these pages refers to committees and their work before Parliament was dissolved.

Learn More

The Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament derives its authority and mandate from several sources, including the Parliament of Canada Act, the Standing Orders of the House of Commons, and the Rules of the Senate of Canada.

The Joint Committee is created under the authority of the Parliament of Canada Act, which calls for the establishment of a Joint Committee to be appointed by the Senate and the House of Commons. Its mandate is to assist the Speakers of both chambers, who are charged with the authority under the Act to direct and control the Library of Parliament and its officers and staff.

In effect, the Speakers of both chambers, assisted by the Joint Committee, direct the day-to-day functioning of the Library, and, with the approval of both Houses, may make orders and regulations to govern how the Library is managed and how moneys are expended. The Joint Committee, under this arrangement, plays a role in the direction of the Library of Parliament by supporting the Speakers as they provide direction to the Library.

Another significant role for the Joint Committee is contemplated in section 78 of the Parliament of Canada Act, which requires that Library officers and other staff are to discharge their official duties faithfully. The mechanism for defining what constitutes a faithful discharge of duties is a regulation to be approved by the Speakers of both Houses. That regulation, however, must be concurred in by the Joint Committee.

In addition to the statutory basis for the Joint Committee’s mandate to assist the Speakers of both Houses in their direction of the Library, the procedural rules of both Houses supplement the Committee’s mandate. Both Houses may give an order of reference to the Joint Committee to inquire into any matter that would be appropriate for the Committee to study given the reason for its existence.

Rule 12-9 of the Rules of the Senate gives all committees the power to:

  • inquire into and report upon matters referred to them by the Senate;
  • send for persons, papers and records; and
  • publish from day to day such papers and evidence as may be ordered by them.

Standing Order 108(1) of the Standing Orders of the House of Commons also grants all standing committees the power to:

  • examine and enquire into all matters referred by the House;
  • report from time to time to the House;
  • send for persons, papers and records; and
  • delegate to subcommittees all or any of their powers except the power to report directly to the House.

The specific mandate of the Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament is defined in Standing Order 108(4) as: “the review of the effectiveness, management and operation of the Library of Parliament; … [p]rovided that both Houses may, from time to time, refer any other matter to any of the aforementioned Standing Joint Committees.”

Standing Order 111.1(1) and (2) gives the Committee the mandate to review the appointment of the Parliamentary Librarian.

The roots of the Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament can be traced back to before Confederation. The Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council of the Province of Canada each had a separate library. On 3 June 1850, a Select Committee of the Legislative Assembly recommended that a joint library be established for both Houses, and that a joint committee be appointed for the attainment of this objective. Both Houses approved the proposal and the joint Library was established. The first meeting of the newly created Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament was held on 27 June 1850.

The first meeting of the Joint Committee after Confederation occurred on 11 December 1867. On 14 April 1871, the Library of Parliament Act received Royal Assent. The Act provided for the appointment of a Joint Committee of both the Senate and the House to assist the Speakers in the direction and control of the Library of Parliament. In 1985, the Act was consolidated into the Parliament of Canada Act. The provisions of this Act regarding the Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament are essentially the same as those of the 1871 Act.

The Standing Joint Committee met from time to time until 1986, dealing with issues such as staffing, salaries and physical maintenance of the Library building. In 1986, the Joint Committee stopped meetings when references to it were removed from the Standing Orders of the House of Commons. The Rules of the Senate of Canada, however, remained unchanged and still contained a provision for such a committee.

In 1991, the Auditor General of Canada released an audit of the Library of Parliament, noting that the absence of a joint committee meant that “compliance with the Parliament of Canada Act cannot be achieved.” In April 1993, the Standing Committee on House Management released a report entitled Parliamentary Reform. One of its recommendations was to re-establish a joint committee of the Senate and the House of Commons for the Library of Parliament. Changes made to the Standing Orders in January 1994 for the 35th Parliament included a provision for such a committee. On 17 March 1994, the Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament met for the first time since its re-establishment. The Committee has remained active since that time.

In recent years, the Joint Committee has held meetings to:

  • Consider the Library of Parliament’s position with respect to the Copyright Act (2008);
  • Study the Parliament 2020 project, a comparative project undertaken by five countries that explores how new technologies can be used to improve the parliamentary process, as well as the interaction between parliamentarians and the public (2010);
  • Approve the nomination of a new Parliamentary Librarian (2005 and 2012);
  • Consider strategic and budgetary initiatives being undertaken by the Library of Parliament; and
  • Consider the Library of Parliament’s estimates;
  • Discuss the digitalization of parliamentary documents.

STAFF ASSIGNED TO THE JOINT COMMITTEE

Committee Clerk

As this is a joint committee, there are committee clerks assigned from both the Senate and the House of Commons and they are referred to as joint clerks. The joint clerks of the joint committee are non-partisan and independent officers who serve all members of the committee and representatives of all parties equally. The joint clerks perform their duties and responsibilities under the direction of the joint committee and the joint Chairs. As experts in the rules of the Senate and the House of Commons, the joint clerks may be requested to give advice to the joint Chairs and members of the committee should a question of procedure arise. The joint clerks coordinate, organize and serve as liaison officers for the joint committee and as such will be in frequent contact with members’ staff.

Committee Assistant

The committee assistants from the Senate and the House of Commons provide a wide range of specialized administrative services for, in particular, the organization of committee meetings and the publishing of documents on the committees’ website. The committee assistants work with the joint clerks to meet the needs of the joint committee.

Committee Analyst

The Library of Parliament’s analysts provide authoritative, substantive, and timely research, analysis and information to all members of the Committee. They are part of the Committee’s institutional memory and are a unique resource for parliamentarians. Supported by research librarians, analyst works individually or in multidisciplinary teams.

Analysts can prepare: briefing notes on the subjects being examined; detailed study plans; lists of proposed witnesses; analyses of an issue with a list of suggested questions; background papers; draft reports; news releases; and/or formal correspondence. Analysts with legal training can assist the Committee regarding any substantive issues that may arise during the consideration of bills.

OTHER RESOURCE AVAILABLE TO THE COMMITTEE

The Parliamentary Budget Officer (PBO)

The Parliamentary Budget Officer (PBO) has a mandate to support Parliament and parliamentarians in holding the government to account for the good stewardship of public resources. The Federal Accountability Act (FedAA) of 2006 mandates the PBO to provide independent analysis to the Senate and to the House of Commons (HOC) regarding the state of the nation’s finances, the government estimates and trends in the national economy.

The enabling legislation also provides the PBO with a mandate to provide analytical support to any committee during its consideration of the estimates, as well as provide advice to any Member of Parliament regarding the financial cost of proposals.

Further information on the PBO may be found at: http://www.pbo-dpb.gc.ca/en/

Passer au contenu

À propos

42e législature, 1re session
(3 décembre 2015 - présent)
Choisir une session différente

Le Comité mixte permanent de la Bibliothèque du Parlement tient ses pouvoirs et son mandat de plusieurs sources, notamment la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada, le Règlement de la Chambre des communes et le Règlement du Sénat du Canada.

Le Comité mixte a été créé sous le régime de la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada, qui prévoit que le Comité est établi par le Sénat et la Chambre des communes et qu’il a pour mandat d’assister les Présidents des deux Chambres, sous l’autorité desquels sont placés la Bibliothèque et son personnel.

Dans les faits, les Présidents des deux Chambres, assistés par le Comité mixte, dirigent le fonctionnement quotidien de la Bibliothèque et prennent des ordonnances et des règlements, avec l’approbation des deux Chambres, pour gérer la Bibliothèque et l’utilisation des fonds qui y sont affectés. Le Comité mixte joue donc un rôle dans la direction de la Bibliothèque en aidant les Présidents dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions.

Le Comité mixte remplit un autre rôle important aux termes de l’article 78 de la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada, qui précise que les membres du personnel de la Bibliothèque doivent s’acquitter fidèlement de leurs fonctions officielles. Le mécanisme permettant de définir ce qui constitue l’exercice fidèle des fonctions est un règlement qui doit être adopté par les Présidents des deux Chambres, mais qui doit aussi être approuvé par le Comité mixte.

En plus du mandat législatif du Comité mixte qui consiste à aider les Présidents des deux Chambres à diriger la Bibliothèque, les règles de procédure de celles-ci peuvent ajouter à ce mandat. Ainsi, les deux chambres peuvent délivrer un ordre de renvoi pour amener le Comité à étudier une question qui relève de son champ de compétence.

L’article 12-9 du Règlement du Sénat du Canada accorde à tous les comités le mandat de :

  • faire enquête et rapport sur les questions dont ils sont saisis par le Sénat;
  • faire comparaître des témoins et produire des documents;
  • faire publier des documents et témoignages.

Le paragraphe 108(1) des Règlement de la Chambre des communes autorise aussi à tous les comités permanents de :

  • faire enquête et rapport sur toutes les questions qui leur sont renvoyées par la Chambre;
  • présenter de temps en temps des rapports à la Chambre;
  • convoquer des personnes et exiger la production de documents;
  • déléguer une partie ou la totalité de leurs pouvoirs à des sous-comités, sauf celui de faire rapport directement à la Chambre.

Le paragraphe 108(4) du Règlement précise que le mandat spécifique du Comité mixte permanent de la Bibliothèque du Parlement « comprend l’étude de l’efficacité, de l’administration et du fonctionnement de la Bibliothèque du Parlement […] Les deux Chambres peuvent toutefois, de temps à autre, renvoyer n’importe quelle autre question aux comités mixtes permanents susmentionnés ».

Les paragraphes 111.1(1) et (2) confient aussi au Comité le mandat d’examiner la nomination proposée pour le poste de bibliothécaire parlementaire.

Les origines du Comité mixte permanent de la Bibliothèque du Parlement sont antérieures à la Confédération. L’Assemblée législative et le Conseil législatif de la province du Canada avaient chacun leur bibliothèque. Le 3 juin 1850, un comité spécial de l’Assemblée législative a recommandé qu’une bibliothèque commune soit constituée pour les deux Chambres et qu’un comité mixte soit constitué à cette fin. Les deux Chambres ayant approuvé la proposition, cette bibliothèque commune a été créée, et la première séance du nouveau Comité mixte permanent de la Bibliothèque du Parlement a eu lieu le 27 juin 1850.

Après la Confédération, le Comité mixte a tenu sa première séance le 11 décembre 1867, et la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada a obtenu la sanction royale le 14 avril 1871. Cette loi prévoyait la création d’un comité mixte du Sénat et de la Chambre, chargé d’aider les Présidents des deux Chambres à diriger et à superviser la Bibliothèque du Parlement. Elle a été intégrée en 1985 à la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada, dont les dispositions applicables au Comité mixte permanent de la Bibliothèque du Parlement sont essentiellement les mêmes que dans la Loi de 1871.

Le Comité mixte s’est réuni périodiquement jusqu’en 1986, en se concentrant sur des questions comme la dotation, les salaires et la maintenance de l’édifice de la Bibliothèque. En 1986, le Comité mixte a cessé de se réunir quand il n’en a plus été fait mention dans le Règlement de la Chambre des communes. Le Règlement du Sénat du Canada n’a toutefois pas été modifié et contient toujours une disposition relative à ce comité.

Dans un rapport de vérification de la Bibliothèque du Parlement déposé en 1991, le vérificateur général du Canada faisait remarquer que l’absence de comité mixte rendait impossible l’application de la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada. En avril 1993, le Comité permanent de la gestion de la Chambre a déposé un rapport intitulé La réforme parlementaire, dans lequel il recommandait notamment de reconstituer le comité mixte responsable de la Bibliothèque du Parlement. Les modifications apportées au Règlement de la Chambre en janvier 1994, au début de la 35e législature, donnaient suite à cette recommandation. Le 17 mars 1994, le nouveau Comité mixte permanent de la Bibliothèque du Parlement se réunissait pour la première fois. Il est demeuré actif depuis lors.

Au cours des dernières années, le Comité mixte s’est réuni pour :

  • Considérer la position de la Bibliothèque du Parlement par rapport à la Loi sur les droits d’auteur (2008);
  • Étudier le projet Parlement 2020, un projet de comparaison entrepris par cinq pays pour explorer les façons de tirer parti des nouvelles technologies pour améliorer le processus parlementaire ainsi que l’interaction entre les parlementaires et le public (2010);
  • Approuver la nomination d’un nouveau bibliothécaire parlementaire (2005 et 2012);
  • Considérer des initiatives stratégiques et budgétaires entreprises par la Bibliothèque du Parlement;
  • Considérer le budget de dépenses de la Bibliothèque du Parlement;
  • Discuter de la numérisation des documents parlementaires.

PERSONNEL ATTITRÉ AU COMITÉ MIXTE

Greffier du Comité

Comme il s’agit d’un comité mixte, un greffier provenant du Sénat et un autre provenant de la Chambre des communes y sont affectés et sont qualifiés de cogreffiers. En tant qu’agents impartiaux et indépendants du comité mixte, les cogreffiers sont au service de tous les membres du comité et représentent tous les partis également. Ils s’acquittent de leurs fonctions et responsabilités sous la direction du comité mixte et de ses coprésidents. En leur qualité d’experts des règlements du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes, les cogreffiers peuvent avoir à conseiller les coprésidents et les membres du comité lorsqu’une question de procédure se pose. Ils agissent à titre de coordonnateur, d’organisateur et d’agent de liaison du comité mixte et sont donc appelés à communiquer fréquemment avec le personnel des députés.

Adjoint du Comité

Les adjoints de comité du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes fournissent au comité mixte de multiples services administratifs spécialisés pour, notamment, l’organisation de réunions de comités et la publication des documents sur le site Web des comités. Les adjoints de comité travaillent avec les cogreffiers pour répondre aux besoins du comité mixte.

Analyste du Comité

Les analystes de la Bibliothèque du Parlement fournissent en temps utile des recherches, des analyses et de l’information de fond faisant autorité à tous les membres du Comité. Ils sont un élément important de la mémoire institutionnelle de ce Comité et constituent une ressource unique pour les parlementaires. Avec l’appui des bibliothécaires de recherche, ils travaillent seuls ou au sein d’une équipe multidisciplinaire.

Les analystes peuvent préparer des notes d’information sur les sujets à l’étude, des plans d’étude détaillés, des listes de témoins proposés, des analyses sur un sujet donné accompagnées d’une liste de questions suggérées, des études générales, des ébauches de rapports, des communiqués ou de la correspondance officielle. Ceux qui ont reçu une formation juridique peuvent aider le Comité en ce qui concerne toute question de fond survenant au cours de l’examen d’un projet de loi.

AUTRE RESSOURCE À LA DISPOSITION DU COMITÉ

Le Directeur parlementaire du budget (DPB)

Le Directeur parlementaire du budget a comme mandat de soutenir le Parlement et les parlementaires dans leur rôle de rendre le gouvernement imputable pour sa gestion des ressources publiques. La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité de 2006 donne au DPB le mandat de fournir une analyse indépendante au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes concernant l’état des finances de la nation, les prévisions budgétaires du gouvernement et les tendances de l’économie nationale.

La loi habilitante procure aussi au DPB le mandat de donner un soutien analytique à quelconque comité durant son examen des prévisions budgétaires, ainsi que de donner des conseils à tout parlementaire en ce qui concerne les coûts budgétaires d’une proposition.

Des informations supplémentaires sur le DPB se trouvent à l’adresse: http://www.pbo-dpb.gc.ca/fr/